Best colleges for Social Work in Alabama
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of North Alabama, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Alabama State University are the top bachelor's Social Work programs in Alabama by graduate earnings. University of North Alabama leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $36,948, College Scorecard. Troy University, The University of Alabama and University of North Alabama award the most Social Work degrees in Alabama: 211, 206 and 130 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Alabama colleges offer Social Work and award 879 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…
Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of North Alabama Florence Public · Bachelor's degree | $36,948 | 130 | 55% | — | $30,500 |
| 2 | University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham Public · Bachelor's degree | $35,750 | 30 | 64% | — | $30,000 |
| 3 | Alabama State University Montgomery Public · Bachelor's degree | $34,792 | 30 | 30% | — | $39,593 |
| 4 | Jacksonville State University Jacksonville Public · Bachelor's degree | $34,485 | 70 | 55% | — | $26,342 |
| 5 | The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Public · Bachelor's degree | $31,462 | 206 | 73% | — | $25,000 |
| 6 | Troy University Troy Public · Bachelor's degree | $31,190 | 211 | 50% | — | $30,500 |
| 7 | University of South Alabama Mobile Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $33,771 | 16 | 53% | — | $30,500 |
| 8 | University of Montevallo Montevallo Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $32,262 | 16 | 54% | — | $27,500 |
Colleges awarding the most Social Work degrees in Alabama
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Troy University Troy Public | 211 | $31,190 |
| 2 | The University of Alabama Tuscaloosa Public | 206 | $31,462 |
| 3 | University of North Alabama Florence Public | 130 | $36,948 |
| 4 | Jacksonville State University Jacksonville Public | 70 | $34,485 |
| 5 | Auburn University Auburn Public | 41 | Not reported |
| 6 | University of Alabama at Birmingham Birmingham Public | 30 | $35,750 |
| 7 | Alabama State University Montgomery Public | 30 | $34,792 |
| 8 | Samford University Birmingham Private not-for-profit | 29 | Not reported |
| 9 | Auburn University at Montgomery Montgomery Public | 17 | Not reported |
| 10 | University of Montevallo Montevallo Public | 16 | $32,262 |
ShowHide the other 7 Alabama colleges offering Social Work
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Alabama A & M University | Normal | Public | 50 |
| University of South Alabama | Mobile | Public | 16 |
| Miles College | Fairfield | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Oakwood University | Huntsville | Private not-for-profit | 10 |
| Tuskegee University | Tuskegee | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Talladega College | Talladega | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Huntsville Bible College | Huntsville | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Healthcare Social Workers (SOC 21-1022).
Top skills
What Healthcare Social Workers earn in Alabama
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Social Work programs in Alabama.
Which Alabama colleges award the most Social Work degrees?+
Troy University (211 graduates a year), The University of Alabama (206 graduates a year) and University of North Alabama (130 graduates a year) award the most Social Work degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Alabama colleges offer Social Work.
What is the best college for Social Work in Alabama?+
By graduate earnings, University of North Alabama leads among bachelor's Social Work programs in Alabama, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $36,948, College Scorecard. University of Alabama at Birmingham and Alabama State University follow. By degrees awarded, Troy University is the largest, with 211 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Social Work program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of North Alabama tops the list at $36,948. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Healthcare Social Workers earn in Alabama?+
The average annual wage for Healthcare Social Workers in Alabama is $58,360 (median $60,000), across about 2,850 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Social Work program?+
The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Healthcare Social Workers?+
The national job outlook is about +7.7% growth with around 18,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card