Alabama · Precision Metal Working

Best colleges for Precision Metal Working in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

Bevill State Community College, Gadsden State Community College and George C Wallace Community College - Dothan are the top Precision Metal Working programs in Alabama by graduate earnings. Bevill State Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $45,423, College Scorecard. George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville, Coastal Alabama Community College and Northwest Shoals Community College award the most Precision Metal Working degrees and certificates in Alabama: 237, 194 and 176 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 Alabama colleges offer Precision Metal Working and award 2,041 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Precision Metal Working program focuses on the skills and techniques needed for various metalworking occupations. This program is ideal for students interested in hands-on work involving machinery, fabrication, and assembly of metal…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 48.05
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,041
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$32,714
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,961
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
38%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Sheet Metal Workers
$51,190
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Bevill State Community College
Jasper Public · Certificate
$45,42314038%——
2Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden Public · Certificate
$41,25210238%——
3George C Wallace Community College - Dothan
Dothan Public · Certificate
$36,8348235%——
4Lurleen B Wallace Community College
Andalusia Public · Certificate
$32,7147141%——
5George C Wallace State Community College - Selma
Selma Public · Certificate
$31,09214441%——
6Lawson State Community College
Birmingham Public · Certificate
$35,9412227%——
7Bishop State Community College
Mobile Public · Certificate Small program
$30,688236%——
8Reid State Technical College
Evergreen Public · Certificate Small program
$24,3491659%——

Colleges awarding the most Precision Metal Working degrees in Alabama

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville
Hanceville Public
237Not reported
2Coastal Alabama Community College
Bay Minette Public
194Not reported
3Northwest Shoals Community College
Muscle Shoals Public
176Not reported
4Central Alabama Community College
Alexander City Public
170Not reported
5Southern Union State Community College
Wadley Public
148Not reported
6George C Wallace State Community College - Selma
Selma Public
144$31,092
7Bevill State Community College
Jasper Public
140$45,423
8Shelton State Community College
Tuscaloosa Public
105Not reported
9Gadsden State Community College
Gadsden Public
102$41,252
10George C Wallace Community College - Dothan
Dothan Public
82$36,834
Show the other 10 Alabama colleges offering Precision Metal Working

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Sheet Metal Workers (SOC 47-2211).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~10,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,850
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringMathematicsActive ListeningSpeaking

What Sheet Metal Workers earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
1,450
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$51,190
median $47,530
Best-paying metro
$56,760
Huntsville, AL

Related careers

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
$51,120 avg · 12,450 jobs
Cutting, Punching, and Press Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic
$43,760 avg · 6,000 jobs
Machinists
$57,860 avg · 5,170 jobs
Computer Numerically Controlled Tool Operators
$55,760 avg · 3,120 jobs
Structural Metal Fabricators and Fitters
$52,450 avg · 2,130 jobs
Rolling Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic
$59,960 avg · 1,710 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Precision Metal Working programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Precision Metal Working degrees?+

George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville (237 graduates a year), Coastal Alabama Community College (194 graduates a year) and Northwest Shoals Community College (176 graduates a year) award the most Precision Metal Working degrees and certificates in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 Alabama colleges offer Precision Metal Working.

What is the best college for Precision Metal Working in Alabama?+

By graduate earnings, Bevill State Community College leads among Precision Metal Working programs in Alabama, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $45,423, College Scorecard. Gadsden State Community College and George C Wallace Community College - Dothan follow. By degrees awarded, George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville is the largest, with 237 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Precision Metal Working program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Bevill State Community College tops the list at $45,423. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Sheet Metal Workers earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Sheet Metal Workers in Alabama is $51,190 (median $47,530), across about 1,450 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Precision Metal Working program?+

The Precision Metal Working program focuses on the skills and techniques needed for various metalworking occupations. This program is ideal for students interested in hands-on work involving machinery, fabrication, and assembly of metal…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, monitoring, mathematics, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Sheet Metal Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.4% growth with around 10,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card