South Dakota · Precision Metal Working

Best colleges for Precision Metal Working in South Dakota

Ranked by graduate earnings

Lake Area Technical College, Southeast Technical College and Western Dakota Technical College award the most Precision Metal Working degrees and certificates in South Dakota: 78, 34 and 25 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 South Dakota colleges offer Precision Metal Working and award 145 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Precision Metal Working program focuses on the skills and techniques needed for various metalworking occupations. This program is ideal for students interested in hands-on work involving machinery, fabrication, and assembly of metal…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 48.05
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
145
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$43,436
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
66%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Sheet Metal Workers
$54,140
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Western Dakota Technical College
Rapid City Public · Certificate
$44,6142554%—$9,125
2Lake Area Technical College
Watertown Public · Associate degree
$43,4367873%—$11,001

Colleges awarding the most Precision Metal Working degrees in South Dakota

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Lake Area Technical College
Watertown Public
78$43,436
2Southeast Technical College
Sioux Falls Public
34Not reported
3Western Dakota Technical College
Rapid City Public
25$44,614
4Mitchell Technical College
Mitchell Public
8Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Sheet Metal Workers (SOC 47-2211).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~10,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,850
typically High school diploma or equivalent

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringMathematicsActive ListeningSpeaking

What Sheet Metal Workers earn in South Dakota

Jobs in South Dakota
320
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$54,140
median $47,800
Best-paying metro
$55,750
Sioux Falls, SD-MN

Related careers

Welders, Cutters, Solderers, and Brazers
$51,980 avg · 3,250 jobs
Computer Numerically Controlled Tool Operators
$52,790 avg · 1,420 jobs
Machinists
$51,860 avg · 830 jobs
Cutting, Punching, and Press Machine Setters, Operators, and Tenders, Metal and Plastic
$47,740 avg · 490 jobs
Sheet Metal Workers
$54,140 avg · 320 jobs
Structural Metal Fabricators and Fitters
$50,680 avg · 180 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Precision Metal Working programs in South Dakota.

Which South Dakota colleges award the most Precision Metal Working degrees?+

Lake Area Technical College (78 graduates a year), Southeast Technical College (34 graduates a year) and Western Dakota Technical College (25 graduates a year) award the most Precision Metal Working degrees and certificates in South Dakota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 South Dakota colleges offer Precision Metal Working.

Which Precision Metal Working program in South Dakota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Western Dakota Technical College tops the list at $44,614. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Sheet Metal Workers earn in South Dakota?+

The average annual wage for Sheet Metal Workers in South Dakota is $54,140 (median $47,800), across about 320 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Precision Metal Working program?+

The Precision Metal Working program focuses on the skills and techniques needed for various metalworking occupations. This program is ideal for students interested in hands-on work involving machinery, fabrication, and assembly of metal…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, monitoring, mathematics, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Sheet Metal Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.4% growth with around 10,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A High school diploma or equivalent is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card