Best colleges for Practical Nursing in Alabama
Ranked by graduate earnings
Chattahoochee Valley Community College, Coastal Alabama Community College and Northeast Alabama Community College are the top Practical Nursing programs in Alabama by graduate earnings. Chattahoochee Valley Community College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $63,335, College Scorecard. Coastal Alabama Community College, George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville and Bevill State Community College award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Alabama: 211, 183 and 181 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 23 Alabama colleges offer Practical Nursing and award 1,831 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…
Top 7 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Chattahoochee Valley Community College Phenix City Public · Certificate | $63,335 | 53 | 36% | — | $9,875 |
| 2 | Coastal Alabama Community College Bay Minette Public · Associate degree | $63,125 | 211 | 31% | — | — |
| 3 | Northeast Alabama Community College Rainsville Public · Certificate | $53,855 | 64 | 56% | — | $8,950 |
| 4 | Reid State Technical College Evergreen Public · Certificate | $44,026 | 112 | 59% | — | $17,319 |
| 5 | George C Wallace State Community College - Selma Selma Public · Certificate | $41,533 | 48 | 41% | — | $16,000 |
| 6 | George C Wallace Community College - Dothan Dothan Public · Certificate | $40,106 | 78 | 35% | — | $10,472 |
| 7 | Herzing University - Birmingham Birmingham Private not-for-profit · Certificate | $47,310 | 38 | 13% | $20,803 | $22,586 |
Colleges awarding the most Practical Nursing degrees in Alabama
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Coastal Alabama Community College Bay Minette Public | 211 | $63,125 |
| 2 | George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville Hanceville Public | 183 | Not reported |
| 3 | Bevill State Community College Jasper Public | 181 | Not reported |
| 4 | John C Calhoun State Community College Tanner Public | 179 | Not reported |
| 5 | Reid State Technical College Evergreen Public | 112 | $44,026 |
| 6 | Shelton State Community College Tuscaloosa Public | 111 | Not reported |
| 7 | Southern Union State Community College Wadley Public | 111 | Not reported |
| 8 | Gadsden State Community College Gadsden Public | 102 | Not reported |
| 9 | Central Alabama Community College Alexander City Public | 85 | Not reported |
| 10 | George C Wallace Community College - Dothan Dothan Public | 78 | $40,106 |
ShowHide the other 13 Alabama colleges offering Practical Nursing
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northwest Shoals Community College | Muscle Shoals | Public | 76 |
| Northeast Alabama Community College | Rainsville | Public | 64 |
| Bishop State Community College | Mobile | Public | 57 |
| Chattahoochee Valley Community College | Phenix City | Public | 53 |
| George C Wallace State Community College - Selma | Selma | Public | 48 |
| J. F. Drake State Community and Technical College | Huntsville | Public | 40 |
| Herzing University - Birmingham | Birmingham | Private not-for-profit | 38 |
| Lurleen B Wallace Community College | Andalusia | Public | 31 |
| Enterprise State Community College | Enterprise | Public | 24 |
| H Councill Trenholm State Community College | Montgomery | Public | 20 |
| Lawson State Community College | Birmingham | Public | 13 |
| Snead State Community College | Boaz | Public | 8 |
| Oakwood University | Huntsville | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Nursing Assistants (SOC 31-1131).
Top skills
What Nursing Assistants earn in Alabama
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Practical Nursing programs in Alabama.
Which Alabama colleges award the most Practical Nursing degrees?+
Coastal Alabama Community College (211 graduates a year), George C Wallace State Community College - Hanceville (183 graduates a year) and Bevill State Community College (181 graduates a year) award the most Practical Nursing degrees and certificates in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 23 Alabama colleges offer Practical Nursing.
What is the best college for Practical Nursing in Alabama?+
By graduate earnings, Chattahoochee Valley Community College leads among Practical Nursing programs in Alabama, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $63,335, College Scorecard. Coastal Alabama Community College and Northeast Alabama Community College follow. By degrees awarded, Coastal Alabama Community College is the largest, with 211 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Practical Nursing program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Chattahoochee Valley Community College tops the list at $63,335. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Nursing Assistants earn in Alabama?+
The average annual wage for Nursing Assistants in Alabama is $33,670 (median $34,140), across about 25,250 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Practical Nursing program?+
The Practical Nursing program, also known as Vocational Nursing and Nursing Assistants, prepares students for a career as a licensed practical nurse (LPN). This program is designed for individuals who want to provide direct nursing care to…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Nursing Assistants?+
The national job outlook is about +2.3% growth with around 204,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card