Alabama · Liberal Arts and Sciences

Best colleges for Liberal Arts and Sciences in Alabama

Ranked by graduate earnings

Jacksonville State University, University of Alabama at Birmingham and Faulkner University award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Alabama: 128, 79 and 19 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 39 Alabama colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences and award 7,422 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

Institutions
39
offering CIP 24.01
States & territories
59
with a program page
Degrees / yr
7,422
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$30,724
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
27
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,870
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
44%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Postsecondary Teachers, All Other
$52,760
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public · Bachelor's degree
$40,9687964%—$28,500
2Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville Public · Bachelor's degree
$30,93912855%—$27,546
3Athens State University
Athens Public · Bachelor's degree Degree completion
$50,903101——$27,839
4Oakwood University
Huntsville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$30,7241545%$23,870$51,250
5Alabama A & M University
Normal Public · Bachelor's degree
$28,8775424%—$33,000

Top 10 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Troy University
Troy Public · Associate degree
$37,83813450%—$27,504
2Chattahoochee Valley Community College
Phenix City Public · Associate degree
$28,47013036%—$11,149
3Southern Union State Community College
Wadley Public · Associate degree
$26,17485136%—$9,860
4George C Wallace Community College - Dothan
Dothan Public · Associate degree
$26,00438135%——
5Marion Military Institute
Marion Public · Associate degree
$25,5018136%—$12,000
6Bevill State Community College
Jasper Public · Associate degree
$25,06340138%—$7,750
7Central Alabama Community College
Alexander City Public · Associate degree
$24,69816933%—$9,911
8John C Calhoun State Community College
Tanner Public · Associate degree
$24,4551,05741%—$11,236
9Lurleen B Wallace Community College
Andalusia Public · Associate degree
$24,29512341%—$5,500
10Northeast Alabama Community College
Rainsville Public · Associate degree
$24,22831856%—$7,987

Colleges awarding the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Alabama

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Jacksonville State University
Jacksonville Public
128$30,939
2University of Alabama at Birmingham
Birmingham Public
79$40,968
3Faulkner University
Montgomery Private not-for-profit
19Not reported
4Auburn University
Auburn Public
17Not reported
5Oakwood University
Huntsville Private not-for-profit
15$30,724
6Auburn University at Montgomery
Montgomery Public
11Not reported
7Tuskegee University
Tuskegee Private not-for-profit
11Not reported
8The University of Alabama
Tuscaloosa Public
10Not reported
9Spring Hill College
Mobile Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
10University of Mobile
Mobile Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
Show the other 29 Alabama colleges offering Liberal Arts and Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
John C Calhoun State Community CollegeTannerPublic1,057
Southern Union State Community CollegeWadleyPublic851
Coastal Alabama Community CollegeBay MinettePublic546
Snead State Community CollegeBoazPublic482
Jefferson State Community CollegeBirminghamPublic438
Bevill State Community CollegeJasperPublic401
George C Wallace Community College - DothanDothanPublic381
Northwest Shoals Community CollegeMuscle ShoalsPublic351
Northeast Alabama Community CollegeRainsvillePublic318
George C Wallace State Community College - HancevilleHancevillePublic275
Bishop State Community CollegeMobilePublic193
Gadsden State Community CollegeGadsdenPublic191
Shelton State Community CollegeTuscaloosaPublic189
George C Wallace State Community College - SelmaSelmaPublic187
Central Alabama Community CollegeAlexander CityPublic169
Enterprise State Community CollegeEnterprisePublic161
Lawson State Community CollegeBirminghamPublic136
Troy UniversityTroyPublic134
Chattahoochee Valley Community CollegePhenix CityPublic130
Lurleen B Wallace Community CollegeAndalusiaPublic123
Columbia Southern University (Online)Orange BeachPrivate for-profit116
Athens State University (Degree completion)AthensPublic101
Marion Military InstituteMarionPublic81
Alabama A & M UniversityNormalPublic54
H Councill Trenholm State Community CollegeMontgomeryPublic35
Stillman CollegeTuscaloosaPrivate not-for-profit10
J. F. Drake State Community and Technical CollegeHuntsvillePublic4
Samford UniversityBirminghamPrivate not-for-profit4
Amridge University (Online)MontgomeryPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Postsecondary Teachers, All Other (SOC 25-1199).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.8%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$78,490
typically Doctoral or professional degree

What Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in Alabama

Jobs in Alabama
220
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$52,760
median $51,060
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in Alabama.

Which Alabama colleges award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees?+

Jacksonville State University (128 graduates a year), University of Alabama at Birmingham (79 graduates a year) and Faulkner University (19 graduates a year) award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in Alabama, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 39 Alabama colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Which Liberal Arts and Sciences program in Alabama has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Alabama at Birmingham tops the list at $40,968. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in Alabama?+

The average annual wage for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other in Alabama is $52,760 (median $51,060), across about 220 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Liberal Arts and Sciences program?+

The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…

What is the job outlook for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other?+

The national job outlook is about +1.8% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card