Wisconsin · Linguistic

Best colleges for Linguistic in Wisconsin

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Wisconsin-Madison, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee and Viterbo University award the most Linguistic degrees and certificates in Wisconsin: 22, 21 and 10 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Wisconsin colleges offer Linguistic and award 92 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Linguistic program, formally known as Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, focuses on the scientific study of language. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the complexities of…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 16.01
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
92
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$25,285
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,655
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
57%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Interpreters and Translators
$64,240
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee Public · Bachelor's degree
$25,2852149%—$25,479

Colleges awarding the most Linguistic degrees in Wisconsin

Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison Public
22Not reported
2University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Milwaukee Public
21$25,285
3Viterbo University
La Crosse Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
4Waukesha County Technical College
Pewaukee Public
8Not reported
5Lawrence University
Appleton Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
6University of Wisconsin-Platteville
Platteville Public
7Not reported
7University of Wisconsin-River Falls
River Falls Public
3Not reported
8University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point
Stevens Point Public
1Not reported
Show the other 1 Wisconsin colleges offering Linguistic
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Milwaukee Area Technical CollegeMilwaukeePublic13

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~6,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,440
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Interpreters and Translators earn in Wisconsin

Jobs in Wisconsin
1,410
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$64,240
median $63,390
Best-paying metro
$72,610
Madison, WI

Related careers

Interpreters and Translators
$64,240 avg · 1,410 jobs
English Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$92,220 avg · 840 jobs
Foreign Language and Literature Teachers, Postsecondary
$83,800 avg · 450 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$89,690 avg · 260 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Linguistic programs in Wisconsin.

Which Wisconsin colleges award the most Linguistic degrees?+

University of Wisconsin-Madison (22 graduates a year), University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee (21 graduates a year) and Viterbo University (10 graduates a year) award the most Linguistic degrees and certificates in Wisconsin, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Wisconsin colleges offer Linguistic.

Which Linguistic program in Wisconsin has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee tops the list at $25,285. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Wisconsin?+

The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Wisconsin is $64,240 (median $63,390), across about 1,410 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Linguistic program?+

The Linguistic program, formally known as Linguistic, Comparative, and Related Language Studies and Services, focuses on the scientific study of language. This program is ideal for students interested in understanding the complexities of…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card