Best colleges for Biology in West Virginia
Ranked by graduate earnings
Shepherd University, West Liberty University and West Virginia University are the top bachelor's Biology programs in West Virginia by graduate earnings. Shepherd University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $49,165, College Scorecard. West Virginia University, Marshall University and West Liberty University award the most Biology degrees in West Virginia: 117, 82 and 55 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 West Virginia colleges offer Biology and award 441 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Biology program, also known as Biology, General, is designed for students interested in the scientific study of life and living organisms. This broad natural science encompasses various fields, focusing on the structure, function,…
Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Shepherd University Shepherdstown Public · Bachelor's degree | $49,165 | 21 | 51% | — | $21,937 |
| 2 | West Liberty University West Liberty Public · Bachelor's degree | $29,559 | 55 | 60% | — | $22,500 |
| 3 | West Virginia University Morgantown Public · Bachelor's degree | $25,086 | 117 | 65% | — | $23,090 |
| 4 | Marshall University Huntington Public · Bachelor's degree | $19,955 | 82 | 51% | — | $25,206 |
| 5 | University of Charleston Charleston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $29,188 | 16 | 46% | $21,939 | $24,125 |
| 6 | Concord University Athens Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $26,390 | 17 | 39% | — | $23,236 |
Colleges awarding the most Biology degrees in West Virginia
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | West Virginia University Morgantown Public | 117 | $25,086 |
| 2 | Marshall University Huntington Public | 82 | $19,955 |
| 3 | West Liberty University West Liberty Public | 55 | $29,559 |
| 4 | Shepherd University Shepherdstown Public | 21 | $49,165 |
| 5 | West Virginia State University Institute Public | 20 | Not reported |
| 6 | Concord University Athens Public | 17 | $26,390 |
| 7 | University of Charleston Charleston Private not-for-profit | 16 | $29,188 |
| 8 | Bethany College Bethany Private not-for-profit | 15 | Not reported |
| 9 | West Virginia Wesleyan College Buckhannon Private not-for-profit | 14 | Not reported |
| 10 | Fairmont State University Fairmont Public | 13 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 6 West Virginia colleges offering Biology
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine (Graduate only) | Lewisburg | Public | 24 |
| Salem University | Salem | Private for-profit | 15 |
| West Virginia University Institute of Technology | Beckley | Public | 13 |
| Glenville State University | Glenville | Public | 8 |
| Davis & Elkins College | Elkins | Private not-for-profit | 6 |
| Wheeling University | Wheeling | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Biological Technicians (SOC 19-4021).
Top skills
What Biological Technicians earn in West Virginia
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Biology programs in West Virginia.
Which West Virginia colleges award the most Biology degrees?+
West Virginia University (117 graduates a year), Marshall University (82 graduates a year) and West Liberty University (55 graduates a year) award the most Biology degrees in West Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 West Virginia colleges offer Biology.
What is the best college for Biology in West Virginia?+
By graduate earnings, Shepherd University leads among bachelor's Biology programs in West Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $49,165, College Scorecard. West Liberty University and West Virginia University follow. By degrees awarded, West Virginia University is the largest, with 117 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Biology program in West Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Shepherd University tops the list at $49,165. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Biological Technicians earn in West Virginia?+
The average annual wage for Biological Technicians in West Virginia is $57,650 (median $51,440), across about 100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Biology program?+
The Biology program, also known as Biology, General, is designed for students interested in the scientific study of life and living organisms. This broad natural science encompasses various fields, focusing on the structure, function,…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, science, active listening, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Biological Technicians?+
The national job outlook is about +3.5% growth with around 9,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card