West Virginia · Allied Health Diagnostic

Best colleges for Allied Health Diagnostic in West Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition, Marshall University and Pierpont Community and Technical College are the top Allied Health Diagnostic programs in West Virginia by graduate earnings. West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $65,090, College Scorecard. Marshall University, University of Charleston and BridgeValley Community & Technical College award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees and certificates in West Virginia: 94, 51 and 40 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 20 West Virginia colleges offer Allied Health Diagnostic and award 565 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions program prepares students for a variety of roles within the healthcare sector. This program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to provide…

Institutions
20
offering CIP 51.09
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
565
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$55,112
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$18,042
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
42%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Diagnostic Medical Sonographers
$80,040
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition
Morgantown Private not-for-profit · Certificate
$65,09037——$17,386
2Marshall University
Huntington Public · Bachelor's degree
$59,0179451%—$22,789
3Pierpont Community and Technical College
Fairmont Public · Certificate
$58,6053742%——
4University of Charleston
Charleston Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$57,3385146%$21,939$27,000
5BridgeValley Community & Technical College
South Charleston Public · Associate degree
$55,1124034%—$7,781
6West Virginia Northern Community College
Wheeling Public · Associate degree
$43,4662233%—$11,613
7Carver Career Center
Charleston Public · Certificate
$41,5102092%——
8Bluefield State University
Bluefield Public · Associate degree Small program
$45,1281837%—$16,300

Colleges awarding the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees in West Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Marshall University
Huntington Public
94$59,017
2University of Charleston
Charleston Private not-for-profit
51$57,338
3BridgeValley Community & Technical College
South Charleston Public
40$55,112
4West Liberty University
West Liberty Public
38Not reported
5West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition
Morgantown Private not-for-profit
37$65,090
6Pierpont Community and Technical College
Fairmont Public
37$58,605
7West Virginia University
Morgantown Public
33Not reported
8West Virginia Northern Community College
Wheeling Public
22$43,466
9Carver Career Center
Charleston Public
20$41,510
10Bluefield State University
Bluefield Public
18$45,128
Show the other 10 West Virginia colleges offering Allied Health Diagnostic

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Diagnostic Medical Sonographers (SOC 29-2032).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+13.0%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$89,340
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionMonitoringCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Diagnostic Medical Sonographers earn in West Virginia

Jobs in West Virginia
780
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$80,040
median $76,820
Best-paying metro
$81,400
Huntington-Ashland, WV-KY-OH

Related careers

Radiologic Technologists and Technicians
$73,780 avg · 1,810 jobs
Respiratory Therapists
$71,970 avg · 1,140 jobs
Paramedics
$48,940 avg · 1,090 jobs
Physician Assistants
$128,830 avg · 1,080 jobs
Emergency Medical Technicians
$35,910 avg · 900 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Allied Health Diagnostic programs in West Virginia.

Which West Virginia colleges award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees?+

Marshall University (94 graduates a year), University of Charleston (51 graduates a year) and BridgeValley Community & Technical College (40 graduates a year) award the most Allied Health Diagnostic degrees and certificates in West Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 20 West Virginia colleges offer Allied Health Diagnostic.

What is the best college for Allied Health Diagnostic in West Virginia?+

By graduate earnings, West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition leads among Allied Health Diagnostic programs in West Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $65,090, College Scorecard. Marshall University and Pierpont Community and Technical College follow. By degrees awarded, Marshall University is the largest, with 94 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Allied Health Diagnostic program in West Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, West Virginia University Hospital Departments of Rad Tech and Nutrition tops the list at $65,090. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Diagnostic Medical Sonographers earn in West Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers in West Virginia is $80,040 (median $76,820), across about 780 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Allied Health Diagnostic program?+

The Allied Health Diagnostic, Intervention, and Treatment Professions program prepares students for a variety of roles within the healthcare sector. This program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to provide…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, monitoring, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Diagnostic Medical Sonographers?+

The national job outlook is about +13.0% growth with around 5,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card