Virginia · Public Policy Analysis

Best colleges for Public Policy Analysis in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Virginia, Liberty University and George Mason University award the most Public Policy Analysis degrees and certificates in Virginia: 198, 156 and 73 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Virginia colleges offer Public Policy Analysis and award 569 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Public Policy Analysis program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to evaluate and implement policies that address societal issues. It is designed for individuals interested in working within public administration,…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 44.05
States offered
48
with a program page
Degrees / yr
569
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$36,703
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,911
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
77%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Medical and Health Services Managers
$142,340
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Regent University
Virginia Beach Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$38,5462857%$18,677$24,500
2William & Mary
Williamsburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,7036089%—$22,000

Colleges awarding the most Public Policy Analysis degrees in Virginia

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Virginia
Charlottesville Public
198Not reported
2Liberty University
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit
156Not reported
3George Mason University
Fairfax Public
73Not reported
4William & Mary
Williamsburg Public
60$36,703
5Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg Public
51Not reported
6Regent University
Virginia Beach Private not-for-profit
28$38,546
7James Madison University
Harrisonburg Public
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Medical and Health Services Managers (SOC 11-9111).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+23.2%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~62,100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$117,960
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningMonitoring

What Medical and Health Services Managers earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
10,210
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$142,340
median $129,270
Best-paying metro
$145,100
Charlottesville, VA

Related careers

Medical and Health Services Managers
$142,340 avg · 10,210 jobs
Social Scientists and Related Workers, All Other
$143,800 avg · 3,380 jobs
Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,190 avg · 1,630 jobs
Political Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$113,530 avg · 830 jobs
Social Science Research Assistants
$59,810 avg · 700 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Public Policy Analysis programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Public Policy Analysis degrees?+

University of Virginia (198 graduates a year), Liberty University (156 graduates a year) and George Mason University (73 graduates a year) award the most Public Policy Analysis degrees and certificates in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Virginia colleges offer Public Policy Analysis.

Which Public Policy Analysis program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Regent University tops the list at $38,546. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Medical and Health Services Managers earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Medical and Health Services Managers in Virginia is $142,340 (median $129,270), across about 10,210 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Public Policy Analysis program?+

The Public Policy Analysis program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to evaluate and implement policies that address societal issues. It is designed for individuals interested in working within public administration,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, critical thinking, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Medical and Health Services Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +23.2% growth with around 62,100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card