Virginia · Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies

Best colleges for Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Virginia, University of Richmond and Virginia Commonwealth University are the top bachelor's Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies programs in Virginia by graduate earnings. University of Virginia leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,463, College Scorecard. Liberty University, Old Dominion University and Virginia Commonwealth University award the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees in Virginia: 1,769, 206 and 167 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Virginia colleges offer Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies and award 2,590 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program offers students the opportunity to combine multiple academic disciplines into a cohesive field of study. This program is ideal for those who seek to explore various areas of knowledge, such as…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 30.99
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
2,590
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$42,284
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
8
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,057
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
62%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 8 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Virginia
Charlottesville Public · Bachelor's degree
$52,4637596%—$26,700
2University of Richmond
University of Richmond Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$49,4214085%$24,049$24,750
3Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public · Bachelor's degree
$49,11116763%—$25,125
4Old Dominion University
Norfolk Public · Bachelor's degree
$46,35920646%—$27,000
5Liberty University
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$42,2841,76965%$28,911$28,375
6Radford University
Radford Public · Bachelor's degree
$39,56210149%—$25,000
7William & Mary
Williamsburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$38,5904889%—$18,929
8Christopher Newport University
Newport News Public · Bachelor's degree
$35,9533672%—$26,000

Colleges awarding the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees in Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Liberty University
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit
1,769$42,284
2Old Dominion University
Norfolk Public
206$46,359
3Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public
167$49,111
4Radford University
Radford Public
101$39,562
5University of Virginia
Charlottesville Public
75$52,463
6Norfolk State University
Norfolk Public
61Not reported
7William & Mary
Williamsburg Public
48$38,590
8Virginia State University
Petersburg Public
44Not reported
9University of Richmond
University of Richmond Private not-for-profit
40$49,421
10Christopher Newport University
Newport News Public
36$35,953
Show the other 5 Virginia colleges offering Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Regent UniversityVirginia BeachPrivate not-for-profit16
George Mason UniversityFairfaxPublic12
James Madison UniversityHarrisonburgPublic9
Bluefield UniversityBluefieldPrivate not-for-profit3
Eastern Mennonite UniversityHarrisonburgPrivate not-for-profit3

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees?+

Liberty University (1,769 graduates a year), Old Dominion University (206 graduates a year) and Virginia Commonwealth University (167 graduates a year) award the most Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies degrees in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Virginia colleges offer Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies.

What is the best college for Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies in Virginia?+

By graduate earnings, University of Virginia leads among bachelor's Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies programs in Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,463, College Scorecard. University of Richmond and Virginia Commonwealth University follow. By degrees awarded, Liberty University is the largest, with 1,769 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Virginia tops the list at $52,463. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program?+

The Multi/Interdisciplinary Studies program offers students the opportunity to combine multiple academic disciplines into a cohesive field of study. This program is ideal for those who seek to explore various areas of knowledge, such as…

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card