Virginia · Design and Applied Arts

Best colleges for Design and Applied Arts in Virginia

Ranked by graduate earnings

Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, Radford University and Marymount University are the top bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Virginia by graduate earnings. Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,761, College Scorecard. Virginia Commonwealth University, Liberty University and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Virginia: 398, 269 and 75 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 19 Virginia colleges offer Design and Applied Arts and award 1,026 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

Institutions
19
offering CIP 50.04
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,026
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$33,180
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
9
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,606
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Graphic Designers
$76,670
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 6 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$46,7617586%—$25,802
2Radford University
Radford Public · Bachelor's degree
$34,0962549%—$27,000
3Marymount University
Arlington Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$33,1802254%$25,803$27,000
4Liberty University
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$30,01926965%$28,911$26,000
5Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public · Bachelor's degree
$25,87239863%—$25,937
6Longwood University
Farmville Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$35,612861%—$25,625

Top 3 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Northern Virginia Community College
Annandale Public · Associate degree
$33,2325933%—$18,250
2Tidewater Community College
Norfolk Public · Associate degree
$22,9359332%—$12,320
3Virginia Western Community College
Roanoke Public · Associate degree Small program
$31,4401140%——

Colleges awarding the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Virginia

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Virginia Commonwealth University
Richmond Public
398$25,872
2Liberty University
Lynchburg Private not-for-profit
269$30,019
3Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
Blacksburg Public
75$46,761
4Radford University
Radford Public
25$34,096
5Marymount University
Arlington Private not-for-profit
22$33,180
6Germanna Community College
Locust Grove Public
15Not reported
7Virginia Peninsula Community College
Hampton Public
11Not reported
8Regent University
Virginia Beach Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
9Longwood University
Farmville Public
8$35,612
10Blue Ridge Community College
Weyers Cave Public
6Not reported
Show the other 9 Virginia colleges offering Design and Applied Arts
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Tidewater Community CollegeNorfolkPublic93
Northern Virginia Community CollegeAnnandalePublic59
Virginia Western Community CollegeRoanokePublic11
J Sargeant Reynolds Community CollegeRichmondPublic6
Danville Community CollegeDanvillePublic5
Piedmont Virginia Community CollegeCharlottesvillePublic5
Southern Virginia UniversityBuena VistaPrivate not-for-profit5
Emory & Henry UniversityEmoryPrivate not-for-profit3
Southwest Virginia Community CollegeCedar BluffPublic2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Graphic Designers (SOC 27-1024).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+2.1%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~20,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$61,300
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingActive LearningReading Comprehension

What Graphic Designers earn in Virginia

Jobs in Virginia
4,740
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$76,670
median $72,310
Best-paying metro
$70,860
Richmond, VA

Related careers

Graphic Designers
$76,670 avg · 4,740 jobs
Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$81,160 avg · 2,840 jobs
Web and Digital Interface Designers
$84,660 avg · 1,990 jobs
Photographers
$52,640 avg · 1,580 jobs
Interior Designers
$70,840 avg · 1,550 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Design and Applied Arts programs in Virginia.

Which Virginia colleges award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees?+

Virginia Commonwealth University (398 graduates a year), Liberty University (269 graduates a year) and Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University (75 graduates a year) award the most Design and Applied Arts degrees in Virginia, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 19 Virginia colleges offer Design and Applied Arts.

What is the best college for Design and Applied Arts in Virginia?+

By graduate earnings, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University leads among bachelor's Design and Applied Arts programs in Virginia, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,761, College Scorecard. Radford University and Marymount University follow. By degrees awarded, Virginia Commonwealth University is the largest, with 398 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Design and Applied Arts program in Virginia has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University tops the list at $46,761. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Graphic Designers earn in Virginia?+

The average annual wage for Graphic Designers in Virginia is $76,670 (median $72,310), across about 4,740 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Design and Applied Arts program?+

The Design and Applied Arts program focuses on the intersection of design and practical application, teaching students how to create aesthetically pleasing objects for everyday use. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Graphic Designers?+

The national job outlook is about +2.1% growth with around 20,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card