Utah · Music

Best colleges for Music in Utah

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Utah, Utah Valley University and Utah State University are the top bachelor's Music programs in Utah by graduate earnings. University of Utah leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,548, College Scorecard. Southern Utah University, Brigham Young University and University of Utah award the most Music degrees in Utah: 102, 75 and 69 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 Utah colleges offer Music and award 395 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Music program falls under the field of Visual and Performing Arts, focusing on the study and performance of music. It caters to students interested in various aspects of music, including performance, theory, and history, allowing them…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 50.09
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
395
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$22,983
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,154
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Musicians and Singers
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Utah
Salt Lake City Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,5486965%—$16,500
2Utah Valley University
Orem Public · Bachelor's degree
$24,9524945%——
3Utah State University
Logan Public · Bachelor's degree
$22,9832159%—$13,500
4Brigham Young University
Provo Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$22,6257581%$13,712$10,460

Colleges awarding the most Music degrees in Utah

Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Southern Utah University
Cedar City Public
102Not reported
2Brigham Young University
Provo Private not-for-profit
75$22,625
3University of Utah
Salt Lake City Public
69$42,548
4Utah Valley University
Orem Public
49$24,952
5Snow College
Ephraim Public
46Not reported
6Utah State University
Logan Public
21$22,983
7Utah Tech University
Saint George Public
13Not reported
8Weber State University
Ogden Public
11Not reported
9Westminster University
Salt Lake City Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
Show the other 1 Utah colleges offering Music
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Salt Lake Community CollegeSalt Lake CityPublic4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Musicians and Singers (SOC 27-2042).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.1%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~19,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
—
typically No formal educational credential

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningMonitoringReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive Learning

What Musicians and Singers earn in Utah

Jobs in Utah
230
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Art, Drama, and Music Teachers, Postsecondary
$74,560 avg · 790 jobs
Musicians and Singers
— avg · 230 jobs
Sound Engineering Technicians
$48,250 avg · 210 jobs
Music Directors and Composers
$83,970 avg · 150 jobs
Disc Jockeys, Except Radio
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Music programs in Utah.

Which Utah colleges award the most Music degrees?+

Southern Utah University (102 graduates a year), Brigham Young University (75 graduates a year) and University of Utah (69 graduates a year) award the most Music degrees in Utah, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 Utah colleges offer Music.

What is the best college for Music in Utah?+

By graduate earnings, University of Utah leads among bachelor's Music programs in Utah, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $42,548, College Scorecard. Utah Valley University and Utah State University follow. By degrees awarded, Southern Utah University is the largest, with 102 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Music program in Utah has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Utah tops the list at $42,548. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Music program?+

The Music program falls under the field of Visual and Performing Arts, focusing on the study and performance of music. It caters to students interested in various aspects of music, including performance, theory, and history, allowing them…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, monitoring, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Musicians and Singers?+

The national job outlook is about +1.1% growth with around 19,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A No formal educational credential is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card