Utah · Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in Utah

Ranked by graduates a year

Utah Valley University, Westminster University and University of Utah award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Utah: 42, 31 and 24 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 9 Utah colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions and award 360 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

Institutions
9
offering CIP 51.15
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
360
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$13,712
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
53%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$63,570
BLS OEWS May 2025

9 institutions offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in Utah

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Western Governors University
Salt Lake City Private not-for-profit Online
—12046%$11,580—
2Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions
Provo Private for-profit Graduate only
—77———
3Utah Valley University
Orem Public
—4245%——
4Salt Lake Community College
Salt Lake City Public
—3629%——
5Westminster University
Salt Lake City Private not-for-profit
—3164%$23,154—
6University of Utah
Salt Lake City Public
—2465%——
7Brigham Young University
Provo Private not-for-profit
—1581%$13,712—
8Utah Tech University
Saint George Public
—938%——
9Utah State University
Logan Public
—659%——

Colleges awarding the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees in Utah

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Utah Valley University
Orem Public
42Not reported
2Westminster University
Salt Lake City Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
3University of Utah
Salt Lake City Public
24Not reported
4Brigham Young University
Provo Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
5Utah Tech University
Saint George Public
9Not reported
6Utah State University
Logan Public
6Not reported
Show the other 3 Utah colleges offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Western Governors University (Online)Salt Lake CityPrivate not-for-profit120
Rocky Mountain University of Health Professions (Graduate only)ProvoPrivate for-profit77
Salt Lake Community CollegeSalt Lake CityPublic36

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers (SOC 21-1023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,060
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringLearning Strategies

What Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Utah

Jobs in Utah
1,240
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$63,570
median $50,770
Best-paying metro
$73,310
Logan, UT-ID

Related careers

Marriage and Family Therapists
$93,610 avg · 2,390 jobs
Psychiatric Technicians
$41,980 avg · 1,940 jobs
Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$59,670 avg · 1,930 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$78,270 avg · 1,750 jobs
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$63,570 avg · 1,240 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions programs in Utah.

Which Utah colleges award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

Utah Valley University (42 graduates a year), Westminster University (31 graduates a year) and University of Utah (24 graduates a year) award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Utah, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 9 Utah colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.

How much do Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Utah?+

The average annual wage for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers in Utah is $63,570 (median $50,770), across about 1,240 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +9.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in other statesCaliforniaColoradoGeorgiaMinnesotaWashingtonNew HampshireKansasSouth Dakota

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card