Best colleges for Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians in Texas
Ranked by graduate earnings
Dallas College, Vet Tech Institute of Houston and Pima Medical Institute - Houston are the top Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Dallas College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $35,011, College Scorecard. Dallas College, Vet Tech Institute of Houston and Pima Medical Institute - Houston award the most Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Texas: 249, 127 and 115 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 Texas colleges offer Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians and award 824 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in veterinary medicine, focusing on the care and treatment of animals. This program is ideal for individuals passionate about animal health and…
Top 5 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dallas College Dallas Public · Certificate | $35,011 | 249 | 32% | — | $16,040 |
| 2 | Vet Tech Institute of Houston Houston Private for-profit · Associate degree | $30,665 | 127 | 55% | $16,708 | $14,804 |
| 3 | Pima Medical Institute - Houston Houston Private for-profit · Certificate | $25,638 | 115 | 71% | $20,583 | $8,227 |
| 4 | Lone Star College System The Woodlands Public · Certificate | $38,101 | 32 | 21% | — | — |
| 5 | Texas A&M University - Kingsville Kingsville Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $34,474 | 17 | 42% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians degrees in Texas
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Dallas College Dallas Public | 249 | $35,011 |
| 2 | Vet Tech Institute of Houston Houston Private for-profit | 127 | $30,665 |
| 3 | Pima Medical Institute - Houston Houston Private for-profit | 115 | $25,638* |
| 4 | Pima Medical Institute - San Antonio San Antonio Private for-profit | 115 | $25,638* |
| 5 | Palo Alto College San Antonio Public | 62 | Not reported |
| 6 | Pima Medical Institute - El Paso El Paso Private for-profit | 28 | $25,638* |
| 7 | Texas A&M University - Kingsville Kingsville Public | 17 | $34,474 |
| 8 | Weatherford College Weatherford Public | 14 | Not reported |
| 9 | McLennan Community College Waco Public | 10 | Not reported |
| 10 | East Texas A&M University Commerce Public | 8 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 6 Texas colleges offering Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Lone Star College System | The Woodlands | Public | 32 |
| Austin Community College District | Austin | Public | 15 |
| Blinn College District | Brenham | Public | 14 |
| Collin County Community College District | McKinney | Public | 8 |
| Tyler Junior College | Tyler | Public | 7 |
| Tarleton State University | Stephenville | Public | 3 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Veterinary Technologists and Technicians (SOC 29-2056).
Top skills
What Veterinary Technologists and Technicians earn in Texas
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas.
Which Texas colleges award the most Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians degrees?+
Dallas College (249 graduates a year), Vet Tech Institute of Houston (127 graduates a year) and Pima Medical Institute - Houston (115 graduates a year) award the most Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 Texas colleges offer Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians.
What is the best college for Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians in Texas?+
By graduate earnings, Dallas College leads among Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $35,011, College Scorecard. Vet Tech Institute of Houston and Pima Medical Institute - Houston follow. By degrees awarded, Dallas College is the largest, with 249 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Dallas College tops the list at $35,011. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Veterinary Technologists and Technicians earn in Texas?+
The average annual wage for Veterinary Technologists and Technicians in Texas is $42,030 (median $39,410), across about 16,730 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians program?+
The Veterinary/Animal Health Technologies/Technicians program prepares students for a career in veterinary medicine, focusing on the care and treatment of animals. This program is ideal for individuals passionate about animal health and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Veterinary Technologists and Technicians?+
The national job outlook is about +9.1% growth with around 14,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card