Texas · Physical Science Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Physical Science Technologies/Technicians in Texas

Ranked by graduate earnings

Lee College, Kilgore College and San Jacinto Community College are the top Physical Science Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas by graduate earnings. Lee College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $94,986, College Scorecard. San Jacinto Community College, Brazosport College and Lee College award the most Physical Science Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Texas: 316, 188 and 170 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 16 Texas colleges offer Physical Science Technologies/Technicians and award 1,669 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Physical Science Technologies/Technicians program focuses on the application of scientific principles and techniques in various fields, including chemical technology and process technology. This program is ideal for students interested…

Institutions
16
offering CIP 41.03
States offered
28
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,669
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$53,976
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
12
College Scorecard
Median net price
$13,264
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
37%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health
$56,190
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Lee College
Baytown Public · Associate degree
$94,98617053%—$9,598
2Kilgore College
Kilgore Public · Associate degree
$68,3352739%—$17,208
3San Jacinto Community College
Pasadena Public · Associate degree
$59,49631630%—$10,000
4Lamar State College - Orange
Orange Public · Associate degree
$49,93212937%—$12,000
5College of the Mainland
Texas City Public · Associate degree
$49,6946331%—$10,500
6Texas State Technical College
Waco Public · Associate degree
$42,7692846%—$11,959
7Lamar Institute of Technology
Beaumont Public · Associate degree
$42,53915431%—$15,500
8Houston City College
Houston Public · Associate degree
$60,6123717%—$21,740
9Del Mar College
Corpus Christi Public · Associate degree
$56,94817611%—$7,000
10Lone Star College System
The Woodlands Public · Associate degree
$53,9766721%——

Colleges awarding the most Physical Science Technologies/Technicians degrees in Texas

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1San Jacinto Community College
Pasadena Public
316$59,496
2Brazosport College
Lake Jackson Public
188Not reported
3Lee College
Baytown Public
170$94,986
4Lamar Institute of Technology
Beaumont Public
154$42,539
5Lamar State College - Orange
Orange Public
129$49,932
6Lamar State College - Port Arthur
Port Arthur Public
92Not reported
7College of the Mainland
Texas City Public
63$49,694
8Texas State Technical College
Waco Public
28$42,769
9Kilgore College
Kilgore Public
27$68,335
10Rice University
Houston Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
Show the other 6 Texas colleges offering Physical Science Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Del Mar CollegeCorpus ChristiPublic176
Alvin Community CollegeAlvinPublic95
Wharton County Junior CollegeWhartonPublic72
Lone Star College SystemThe WoodlandsPublic67
Victoria CollegeVictoriaPublic51
Houston City CollegeHoustonPublic37

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health (SOC 19-4042).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+4.0%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~5,600
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$49,490
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningWritingSpeakingCritical ThinkingMonitoring

What Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
3,350
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$56,190
median $50,710
Best-paying metro
$59,540
Midland, TX

Related careers

Chemical Equipment Operators and Tenders
$68,970 avg · 20,880 jobs
Life, Physical, and Social Science Technicians, All Other
$55,050 avg · 9,170 jobs
Chemical Technicians
$70,480 avg · 6,090 jobs
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health
$56,190 avg · 3,350 jobs
Chemical Plant and System Operators
$95,620 avg · 2,360 jobs
Geological Technicians, Except Hydrologic Technicians
$58,500 avg · 2,190 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Physical Science Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Physical Science Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

San Jacinto Community College (316 graduates a year), Brazosport College (188 graduates a year) and Lee College (170 graduates a year) award the most Physical Science Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 16 Texas colleges offer Physical Science Technologies/Technicians.

What is the best college for Physical Science Technologies/Technicians in Texas?+

By graduate earnings, Lee College leads among Physical Science Technologies/Technicians programs in Texas, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $94,986, College Scorecard. Kilgore College and San Jacinto Community College follow. By degrees awarded, San Jacinto Community College is the largest, with 316 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Physical Science Technologies/Technicians program in Texas has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Lee College tops the list at $94,986. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health in Texas is $56,190 (median $50,710), across about 3,350 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Physical Science Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Physical Science Technologies/Technicians program focuses on the application of scientific principles and techniques in various fields, including chemical technology and process technology. This program is ideal for students interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, writing, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health?+

The national job outlook is about +4.0% growth with around 5,600 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Physical Science Technologies/Technicians in other statesKentuckyUtahFloridaAlabamaArkansasCaliforniaDelawareGeorgia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card