Texas · Environmental Design

Best colleges for Environmental Design in Texas

Ranked by graduates a year

Texas A&M University - College Station, The University of Texas at San Antonio and University of Houston award the most Environmental Design degrees and certificates in Texas: 14, 6 and 4 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Texas colleges offer Environmental Design and award 31 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Environmental Design program focuses on creating spaces that enhance the natural, social, cultural, and physical environments. This field of study is essential for students interested in architecture and related services, emphasizing…

Institutions
6
offering CIP 04.04
States offered
28
with a program page
Degrees / yr
31
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
69%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Interior Designers
$72,090
BLS OEWS May 2025

6 institutions offering Environmental Design in Texas

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
—1484%——
2The University of Texas at San Antonio
San Antonio Public
—653%——
3University of Houston
Houston Public
—465%——
4The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
—454%——
5Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public
—269%——
6The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public
—189%——

Colleges awarding the most Environmental Design degrees in Texas

Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Texas A&M University - College Station
College Station Public
14Not reported
2The University of Texas at San Antonio
San Antonio Public
6Not reported
3University of Houston
Houston Public
4Not reported
4The University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington Public
4Not reported
5Texas Tech University
Lubbock Public
2Not reported
6The University of Texas at Austin
Austin Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Interior Designers (SOC 27-1025).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.2%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~7,800
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$63,490
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoring

What Interior Designers earn in Texas

Jobs in Texas
6,450
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$72,090
median $65,160
Best-paying metro
$81,190
Austin-Round Rock-San Marcos, TX

Related careers

Architects, Except Landscape and Naval
$98,910 avg · 7,820 jobs
Interior Designers
$72,090 avg · 6,450 jobs
Urban and Regional Planners
$86,240 avg · 2,190 jobs
Landscape Architects
$92,340 avg · 1,450 jobs
Architecture Teachers, Postsecondary
$105,800 avg · 770 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Environmental Design programs in Texas.

Which Texas colleges award the most Environmental Design degrees?+

Texas A&M University - College Station (14 graduates a year), The University of Texas at San Antonio (6 graduates a year) and University of Houston (4 graduates a year) award the most Environmental Design degrees and certificates in Texas, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Texas colleges offer Environmental Design.

How much do Interior Designers earn in Texas?+

The average annual wage for Interior Designers in Texas is $72,090 (median $65,160), across about 6,450 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Environmental Design program?+

The Environmental Design program focuses on creating spaces that enhance the natural, social, cultural, and physical environments. This field of study is essential for students interested in architecture and related services, emphasizing…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Interior Designers?+

The national job outlook is about +3.2% growth with around 7,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card