Tennessee · Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in Tennessee

Ranked by graduates a year

Lipscomb University, Belmont University and Trevecca Nazarene University award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Tennessee: 74, 31 and 29 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Tennessee colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions and award 324 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 51.15
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
324
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$19,143
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
55%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$50,000
BLS OEWS May 2025

13 institutions offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in Tennessee

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Richmont Graduate University
Chattanooga Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—75———
2Lipscomb University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
—7472%$24,309—
3Belmont University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
—3171%$29,246—
4Trevecca Nazarene University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
—2953%$14,286—
5University of Memphis
Memphis Public
—2651%——
6Lee University
Cleveland Private not-for-profit
—2163%$18,918—
7Pentecostal Theological Seminary
Cleveland Private not-for-profit Graduate only
—20———
8Carson-Newman University
Jefferson City Private not-for-profit
—1553%$19,537—
9Milligan University
Milligan Private not-for-profit
—1363%$19,143—
10Johnson University
Knoxville Private not-for-profit
—857%$19,333$22,913
11Lincoln Memorial University
Harrogate Private not-for-profit
—850%$18,981—
12Southwest Tennessee Community College
Memphis Public
—219%——
13Tennessee Wesleyan University
Athens Private not-for-profit
—248%$14,614—

Colleges awarding the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees in Tennessee

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Lipscomb University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
74Not reported
2Belmont University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
31Not reported
3Trevecca Nazarene University
Nashville Private not-for-profit
29Not reported
4University of Memphis
Memphis Public
26Not reported
5Lee University
Cleveland Private not-for-profit
21Not reported
6Carson-Newman University
Jefferson City Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
7Milligan University
Milligan Private not-for-profit
13Not reported
8Johnson University
Knoxville Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
9Lincoln Memorial University
Harrogate Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
10Tennessee Wesleyan University
Athens Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
Show the other 3 Tennessee colleges offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Richmont Graduate University (Graduate only)ChattanoogaPrivate not-for-profit75
Pentecostal Theological Seminary (Graduate only)ClevelandPrivate not-for-profit20
Southwest Tennessee Community CollegeMemphisPublic2

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers (SOC 21-1023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,060
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringLearning Strategies

What Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Tennessee

Jobs in Tennessee
2,220
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$50,000
median $46,500
Best-paying metro
$53,390
Nashville-Davidson--Murfreesboro--Franklin, TN

Related careers

Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$57,350 avg · 7,870 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$62,750 avg · 5,970 jobs
Psychiatric Technicians
$42,190 avg · 3,810 jobs
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$50,000 avg · 2,220 jobs
Social Workers, All Other
$63,150 avg · 1,910 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions programs in Tennessee.

Which Tennessee colleges award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

Lipscomb University (74 graduates a year), Belmont University (31 graduates a year) and Trevecca Nazarene University (29 graduates a year) award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Tennessee colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.

How much do Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in Tennessee?+

The average annual wage for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers in Tennessee is $50,000 (median $46,500), across about 2,220 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +9.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in other statesCaliforniaColoradoGeorgiaMinnesotaWashingtonNew HampshireKansasSouth Dakota

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card