Best colleges for Ethnic in Tennessee
Ranked by graduates a year
Vanderbilt University, The University of Tennessee-Knoxville and University of Memphis award the most Ethnic degrees and certificates in Tennessee: 18, 12 and 11 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Tennessee colleges offer Ethnic and award 48 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies program focuses on the study of differences related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. This interdisciplinary field examines how these identities intersect with power…
6 institutions offering Ethnic in Tennessee
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit | — | 18 | 94% | $14,854 | — |
| 2 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public | — | 12 | 74% | — | — |
| 3 | University of Memphis Memphis Public | — | 11 | 51% | — | $32,000 |
| 4 | Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro Public | — | 4 | 54% | — | — |
| 5 | Rhodes College Memphis Private not-for-profit | — | 2 | 85% | $19,854 | — |
| 6 | The University of the South Sewanee Private not-for-profit | — | 1 | 80% | $21,573 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Ethnic degrees in Tennessee
Top 6 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 18 | Not reported |
| 2 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public | 12 | Not reported |
| 3 | University of Memphis Memphis Public | 11 | Not reported |
| 4 | Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro Public | 4 | Not reported |
| 5 | Rhodes College Memphis Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 6 | The University of the South Sewanee Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).
Top skills
What Interpreters and Translators earn in Tennessee
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Ethnic programs in Tennessee.
Which Tennessee colleges award the most Ethnic degrees?+
Vanderbilt University (18 graduates a year), The University of Tennessee-Knoxville (12 graduates a year) and University of Memphis (11 graduates a year) award the most Ethnic degrees and certificates in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Tennessee colleges offer Ethnic.
How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Tennessee?+
The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Tennessee is $53,590 (median $51,080), across about 710 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Ethnic program?+
The Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies program focuses on the study of differences related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. This interdisciplinary field examines how these identities intersect with power…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+
The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card