Best colleges for Ethnic in Massachusetts
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Massachusetts-Amherst, Mount Holyoke College and Smith College award the most Ethnic degrees in Massachusetts: 26, 21 and 20 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 24 Massachusetts colleges offer Ethnic and award 235 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies program focuses on the study of differences related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. This interdisciplinary field examines how these identities intersect with power…
Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Smith College Northampton Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $19,105 | 20 | 89% | $17,183 | $19,000 |
| 2 | Wellesley College Wellesley Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $43,926 | 13 | 92% | $19,292 | — |
| 3 | University of Massachusetts-Boston Boston Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $41,872 | 18 | 49% | — | $26,965 |
| 4 | Amherst College Amherst Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $40,120 | 19 | 94% | $16,081 | $18,032 |
| 5 | Brandeis University Waltham Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $35,057 | 12 | 86% | $25,074 | $24,226 |
Colleges awarding the most Ethnic degrees in Massachusetts
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Massachusetts-Amherst Amherst Public | 26 | Not reported |
| 2 | Mount Holyoke College South Hadley Private not-for-profit | 21 | Not reported |
| 3 | Smith College Northampton Private not-for-profit | 20 | $19,105 |
| 4 | Amherst College Amherst Private not-for-profit | 19 | $40,120 |
| 5 | Boston University Boston Private not-for-profit | 18 | Not reported |
| 6 | University of Massachusetts-Boston Boston Public | 18 | $41,872 |
| 7 | Harvard University Cambridge Private not-for-profit | 16 | Not reported |
| 8 | Tufts University Medford Private not-for-profit | 15 | Not reported |
| 9 | Wellesley College Wellesley Private not-for-profit | 13 | $43,926 |
| 10 | Brandeis University Waltham Private not-for-profit | 12 | $35,057 |
ShowHide the other 14 Massachusetts colleges offering Ethnic
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Simmons University | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 12 |
| Boston College | Chestnut Hill | Private not-for-profit | 8 |
| Bridgewater State University | Bridgewater | Public | 5 |
| Hampshire College | Amherst | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Bristol Community College | Fall River | Public | 4 |
| University of Massachusetts-Dartmouth | North Dartmouth | Public | 4 |
| Wheaton College (Massachusetts) | Norton | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Williams College | Williamstown | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Merrimack College | North Andover | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Quinsigamond Community College | Worcester | Public | 3 |
| Clark University | Worcester | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Holyoke Community College | Holyoke | Public | 1 |
| Northeastern University | Boston | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Westfield State University | Westfield | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).
Top skills
What Interpreters and Translators earn in Massachusetts
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Ethnic programs in Massachusetts.
Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Ethnic degrees?+
University of Massachusetts-Amherst (26 graduates a year), Mount Holyoke College (21 graduates a year) and Smith College (20 graduates a year) award the most Ethnic degrees in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 24 Massachusetts colleges offer Ethnic.
Which Ethnic program in Massachusetts has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Smith College tops the list at $19,105. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Massachusetts?+
The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Massachusetts is $79,140 (median $72,750), across about 2,280 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Ethnic program?+
The Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies program focuses on the study of differences related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. This interdisciplinary field examines how these identities intersect with power…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+
The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card