Tennessee · Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians

Best colleges for Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians in Tennessee

Ranked by graduate earnings

South College, Cleveland State Community College and Northeast State Community College award the most Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Tennessee: 51, 42 and 31 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Tennessee colleges offer Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians and award 192 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians program focuses on the study, design, and application of systems and devices that utilize electricity and electronics. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 15.03
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
192
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$39,954
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$20,346
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
39%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
$66,410
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Northeast State Community College
Blountville Public · Associate degree
$39,9543133%——
2Nashville State Community College
Nashville Public · Associate degree Small program
$52,4241218%——

Colleges awarding the most Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees in Tennessee

Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1South College
Knoxville Private for-profit
51Not reported
2Cleveland State Community College
Cleveland Public
42Not reported
3Northeast State Community College
Blountville Public
31$39,954
4Middle Tennessee State University
Murfreesboro Public
15Not reported
5Pellissippi State Community College
Knoxville Public
15Not reported
6Walters State Community College
Morristown Public
7Not reported
7Dyersburg State Community College
Dyersburg Public
5Not reported
8Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Hohenwald
Hohenwald Public
1Not reported
9Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Livingston
Livingston Public
1Not reported
Show the other 3 Tennessee colleges offering Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Nashville State Community CollegeNashvillePublic12
Chattanooga State Community CollegeChattanoogaPublic7
Southwest Tennessee Community CollegeMemphisPublic5

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians (SOC 17-3023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+0.6%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~8,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$77,180
typically Associate's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingActive ListeningWritingSpeakingMonitoring

What Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians earn in Tennessee

Jobs in Tennessee
1,820
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$66,410
median $63,750
Best-paying metro
$75,970
Kingsport-Bristol, TN-VA

Related careers

Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians
$66,410 avg · 1,820 jobs
Engineering Technologists and Technicians, Except Drafters, All Other
$65,890 avg · 990 jobs
Sound Engineering Technicians
$81,800 avg · 510 jobs
Electrical and Electronics Repairers, Powerhouse, Substation, and Relay
$92,640 avg · 430 jobs
Electrical and Electronics Drafters
$77,390 avg · 340 jobs
Electro-Mechanical and Mechatronics Technologists and Technicians
$67,480 avg · 190 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians programs in Tennessee.

Which Tennessee colleges award the most Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees?+

South College (51 graduates a year), Cleveland State Community College (42 graduates a year) and Northeast State Community College (31 graduates a year) award the most Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians degrees and certificates in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Tennessee colleges offer Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians.

Which Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians program in Tennessee has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Northeast State Community College tops the list at $39,954. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians earn in Tennessee?+

The average annual wage for Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians in Tennessee is $66,410 (median $63,750), across about 1,820 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians program?+

The Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians program focuses on the study, design, and application of systems and devices that utilize electricity and electronics. This program is ideal for individuals interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, critical thinking, active listening, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Electrical and Electronic Engineering Technologists and Technicians?+

The national job outlook is about +0.6% growth with around 8,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Associate's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Electrical/Electronic Engineering Technologies/Technicians in other statesNorth DakotaArkansasMichiganOklahomaColoradoMaineRhode IslandIndiana

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card