Best colleges for Economics in Tennessee
Ranked by graduate earnings
Vanderbilt University, The University of the South and Rhodes College are the top bachelor's Economics programs in Tennessee by graduate earnings. Vanderbilt University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $84,311, College Scorecard. Vanderbilt University, The University of the South and Rhodes College award the most Economics degrees in Tennessee: 234, 67 and 29 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 Tennessee colleges offer Economics and award 417 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Economics program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. It explores how economies function and how individuals respond to various incentives, making…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $84,311 | 234 | 94% | $14,854 | $12,424 |
| 2 | The University of the South Sewanee Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $58,532 | 67 | 80% | $21,573 | $24,798 |
| 3 | Rhodes College Memphis Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $57,814 | 29 | 85% | $19,854 | $19,500 |
| 4 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public · Bachelor's degree | $46,302 | 21 | 74% | — | $21,650 |
Colleges awarding the most Economics degrees in Tennessee
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Vanderbilt University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 234 | $84,311 |
| 2 | The University of the South Sewanee Private not-for-profit | 67 | $58,532 |
| 3 | Rhodes College Memphis Private not-for-profit | 29 | $57,814 |
| 4 | Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro Public | 25 | Not reported |
| 5 | The University of Tennessee-Knoxville Knoxville Public | 21 | $46,302 |
| 6 | Belmont University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 12 | Not reported |
| 7 | Union University Jackson Private not-for-profit | 7 | Not reported |
| 8 | The University of Tennessee-Chattanooga Chattanooga Public | 6 | Not reported |
| 9 | University of Memphis Memphis Public | 5 | Not reported |
| 10 | Tennessee Technological University Cookeville Public | 5 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 2 Tennessee colleges offering Economics
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Milligan University | Milligan | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Maryville College | Maryville | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Economists (SOC 19-3011).
Top skills
What Economists earn in Tennessee
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Economics programs in Tennessee.
Which Tennessee colleges award the most Economics degrees?+
Vanderbilt University (234 graduates a year), The University of the South (67 graduates a year) and Rhodes College (29 graduates a year) award the most Economics degrees in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 Tennessee colleges offer Economics.
What is the best college for Economics in Tennessee?+
By graduate earnings, Vanderbilt University leads among bachelor's Economics programs in Tennessee, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $84,311, College Scorecard. The University of the South and Rhodes College follow. By degrees awarded, Vanderbilt University is the largest, with 234 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Economics program in Tennessee has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Vanderbilt University tops the list at $84,311. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Economists earn in Tennessee?+
The average annual wage for Economists in Tennessee is $123,810 (median $117,650), across about 80 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Economics program?+
The Economics program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. It explores how economies function and how individuals respond to various incentives, making…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, mathematics, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Economists?+
The national job outlook is about +1.2% growth with around 900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card