Best colleges for Economics in Connecticut
Ranked by graduate earnings
Yale University, Trinity College and Connecticut College are the top bachelor's Economics programs in Connecticut by graduate earnings. Yale University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $82,617, College Scorecard. University of Connecticut, Yale University and Wesleyan University award the most Economics degrees in Connecticut: 470, 279 and 104 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Connecticut colleges offer Economics and award 1,106 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Economics program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. It explores how economies function and how individuals respond to various incentives, making…
Top 7 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Yale University New Haven Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $82,617 | 279 | 96% | $27,025 | $13,250 |
| 2 | Trinity College Hartford Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $71,191 | 81 | 84% | $25,245 | $21,500 |
| 3 | Connecticut College New London Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $62,732 | 55 | 82% | $27,183 | $25,206 |
| 4 | University of Connecticut Storrs Public · Bachelor's degree | $52,227 | 470 | 83% | — | $22,907 |
| 5 | Central Connecticut State University New Britain Public · Bachelor's degree | $41,910 | 23 | 48% | — | $25,237 |
| 6 | Fairfield University Fairfield Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $74,023 | 16 | 84% | $36,845 | $26,500 |
| 7 | Quinnipiac University Hamden Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $48,340 | 16 | 76% | $36,137 | $25,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Economics degrees in Connecticut
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Connecticut Storrs Public | 470 | $52,227 |
| 2 | Yale University New Haven Private not-for-profit | 279 | $82,617 |
| 3 | Wesleyan University Middletown Private not-for-profit | 104 | Not reported |
| 4 | Trinity College Hartford Private not-for-profit | 81 | $71,191 |
| 5 | Connecticut College New London Private not-for-profit | 55 | $62,732 |
| 6 | Central Connecticut State University New Britain Public | 23 | $41,910 |
| 7 | Sacred Heart University Fairfield Private not-for-profit | 22 | Not reported |
| 8 | University of Hartford West Hartford Private not-for-profit | 17 | Not reported |
| 9 | Fairfield University Fairfield Private not-for-profit | 16 | $74,023 |
| 10 | Quinnipiac University Hamden Private not-for-profit | 16 | $48,340 |
ShowHide the other 3 Connecticut colleges offering Economics
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Eastern Connecticut State University | Willimantic | Public | 11 |
| Western Connecticut State University | Danbury | Public | 8 |
| Connecticut State Community College | New Britain | Public | 4 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Economists (SOC 19-3011).
Top skills
What Economists earn in Connecticut
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Economics programs in Connecticut.
Which Connecticut colleges award the most Economics degrees?+
University of Connecticut (470 graduates a year), Yale University (279 graduates a year) and Wesleyan University (104 graduates a year) award the most Economics degrees in Connecticut, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Connecticut colleges offer Economics.
What is the best college for Economics in Connecticut?+
By graduate earnings, Yale University leads among bachelor's Economics programs in Connecticut, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $82,617, College Scorecard. Trinity College and Connecticut College follow. By degrees awarded, University of Connecticut is the largest, with 470 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Economics program in Connecticut has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Yale University tops the list at $82,617. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Economists earn in Connecticut?+
The average annual wage for Economists in Connecticut is $112,760 (median $101,400), across about 210 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Economics program?+
The Economics program provides students with a comprehensive understanding of the production, distribution, and consumption of goods and services. It explores how economies function and how individuals respond to various incentives, making…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, mathematics, reading comprehension, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Economists?+
The national job outlook is about +1.2% growth with around 900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card