Best colleges for Computer and Information Sciences in Tennessee
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Memphis, East Tennessee State University and Middle Tennessee State University award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Tennessee: 186, 142 and 42 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 34 Tennessee colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences and award 1,094 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…
Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Austin Peay State University Clarksville Public · Bachelor's degree | $58,060 | 24 | 40% | — | $30,736 |
| 2 | East Tennessee State University Johnson City Public · Bachelor's degree | $52,008 | 142 | 53% | — | $24,669 |
| 3 | Strayer University - Tennessee Nashville Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online | $67,315 | 44 | 0% | $18,466 | $50,737 |
| 4 | Trevecca Nazarene University Nashville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $59,514 | 15 | 53% | $14,286 | $24,920 |
| 5 | King University Bristol Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $49,926 | 12 | 48% | $23,546 | $19,850 |
Top 8 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pellissippi State Community College Knoxville Public · Associate degree | $44,224 | 66 | 31% | — | $10,000 |
| 2 | Walters State Community College Morristown Public · Associate degree | $36,266 | 21 | 33% | — | — |
| 3 | Northeast State Community College Blountville Public · Associate degree | $27,882 | 42 | 33% | — | — |
| 4 | Nashville State Community College Nashville Public · Associate degree | $42,160 | 32 | 18% | — | $9,125 |
| 5 | Chattanooga State Community College Chattanooga Public · Associate degree | $41,400 | 31 | 26% | — | $16,484 |
| 6 | Volunteer State Community College Gallatin Public · Associate degree | $35,042 | 126 | 28% | — | $16,745 |
| 7 | Southwest Tennessee Community College Memphis Public · Associate degree | $33,171 | 30 | 19% | — | — |
| 8 | Jackson State Community College Jackson Public · Associate degree | $30,258 | 23 | 26% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Tennessee
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Memphis Memphis Public | 186 | Not reported |
| 2 | East Tennessee State University Johnson City Public | 142 | $52,008 |
| 3 | Middle Tennessee State University Murfreesboro Public | 42 | Not reported |
| 4 | Tennessee College of Applied Technology - Murfreesboro Murfreesboro Public | 42 | Not reported |
| 5 | Fisk University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 35 | Not reported |
| 6 | Austin Peay State University Clarksville Public | 24 | $58,060 |
| 7 | Belmont University Nashville Private not-for-profit | 24 | Not reported |
| 8 | Columbia State Community College Columbia Public | 21 | Not reported |
| 9 | South College Knoxville Private for-profit | 21 | Not reported |
| 10 | Cleveland State Community College Cleveland Public | 20 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 24 Tennessee colleges offering Computer and Information Sciences
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).
Top skills
What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Tennessee
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Computer and Information Sciences programs in Tennessee.
Which Tennessee colleges award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees?+
University of Memphis (186 graduates a year), East Tennessee State University (142 graduates a year) and Middle Tennessee State University (42 graduates a year) award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Tennessee, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 34 Tennessee colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences.
Which Computer and Information Sciences program in Tennessee has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Austin Peay State University tops the list at $58,060. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Tennessee?+
The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Tennessee is $116,810 (median $108,830). Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Computer and Information Sciences program?+
The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+
The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card