South Carolina · Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries

Best colleges for Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries in South Carolina

Ranked by graduates a year

Columbia International University, Charleston Southern University and North Greenville University award the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees and certificates in South Carolina: 7, 6 and 4 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 South Carolina colleges offer Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries and award 17 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program focuses on equipping students with the skills and knowledge necessary for effective ministry and counseling within various religious contexts. This program is ideal for individuals…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 39.07
States offered
37
with a program page
Degrees / yr
17
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,361
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
50%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Clergy
$58,590
BLS OEWS May 2025

3 institutions offering Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries in South Carolina

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Columbia International University
Columbia Private not-for-profit
—747%$21,361—
2Charleston Southern University
Charleston Private not-for-profit
—647%$21,848—
3North Greenville University
Tigerville Private not-for-profit
—455%$20,327—

Colleges awarding the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees in South Carolina

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Columbia International University
Columbia Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
2Charleston Southern University
Charleston Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
3North Greenville University
Tigerville Private not-for-profit
4Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Clergy (SOC 21-2011).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.0%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~23,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,820
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningWritingReading ComprehensionActive LearningCritical Thinking

What Clergy earn in South Carolina

Jobs in South Carolina
450
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$58,590
median $56,630
Best-paying metro
$61,630
Charleston-North Charleston, SC

Related careers

Clergy
$58,590 avg · 450 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$78,910 avg · 250 jobs
Community and Social Service Specialists, All Other
$53,540 avg · 220 jobs
Directors, Religious Activities and Education
$51,680 avg · 170 jobs
Counselors, All Other
$56,210 avg · 60 jobs
Religious Workers, All Other
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries programs in South Carolina.

Which South Carolina colleges award the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees?+

Columbia International University (7 graduates a year), Charleston Southern University (6 graduates a year) and North Greenville University (4 graduates a year) award the most Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries degrees and certificates in South Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 South Carolina colleges offer Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries.

How much do Clergy earn in South Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Clergy in South Carolina is $58,590 (median $56,630), across about 450 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program?+

The Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries program focuses on equipping students with the skills and knowledge necessary for effective ministry and counseling within various religious contexts. This program is ideal for individuals…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, writing, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Clergy?+

The national job outlook is about +1.0% growth with around 23,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Pastoral Counseling and Specialized Ministries in other statesMissouriTexasCaliforniaIllinoisPennsylvaniaFloridaTennesseeVirginia

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card