South Carolina · Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions

Best colleges for Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in South Carolina

Ranked by graduates a year

Converse University, Southern Wesleyan University and Medical University of South Carolina award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in South Carolina: 25, 15 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 South Carolina colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions and award 113 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 51.15
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
113
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,006
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
43%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$43,820
BLS OEWS May 2025

10 institutions offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in South Carolina

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Converse University
Spartanburg Private not-for-profit
—2562%$19,465—
2Midlands Technical College
West Columbia Public
—2318%——
3Southern Wesleyan University
Central Private not-for-profit
—1552%$19,568—
4Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston Public
—14———
5University of South Carolina-Upstate
Spartanburg Public
—1143%——
6South University - Columbia
Columbia Private for-profit
—1023%$22,875—
7University of South Carolina-Columbia
Columbia Public
—979%——
8Morris College
Sumter Private not-for-profit
—417%$21,006—
9Columbia International University
Columbia Private not-for-profit
—147%$21,361—
10Lander University
Greenwood Public
—150%——

Colleges awarding the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees in South Carolina

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Converse University
Spartanburg Private not-for-profit
25Not reported
2Southern Wesleyan University
Central Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
3Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston Public
14Not reported
4University of South Carolina-Upstate
Spartanburg Public
11Not reported
5University of South Carolina-Columbia
Columbia Public
9Not reported
6Columbia International University
Columbia Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
7Lander University
Greenwood Public
1Not reported
Show the other 3 South Carolina colleges offering Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Midlands Technical CollegeWest ColumbiaPublic23
South University - ColumbiaColumbiaPrivate for-profit10
Morris CollegeSumterPrivate not-for-profit4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers (SOC 21-1023).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$60,060
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingMonitoringLearning Strategies

What Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in South Carolina

Jobs in South Carolina
720
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$43,820
median $39,930
Best-paying metro
$49,710
Columbia, SC

Related careers

Child, Family, and School Social Workers
$53,860 avg · 5,520 jobs
Healthcare Social Workers
$62,020 avg · 3,100 jobs
Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers
$43,820 avg · 720 jobs
Psychiatric Technicians
$43,880 avg · 560 jobs
Community Health Workers
$52,540 avg · 540 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions programs in South Carolina.

Which South Carolina colleges award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees?+

Converse University (25 graduates a year), Southern Wesleyan University (15 graduates a year) and Medical University of South Carolina (14 graduates a year) award the most Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions degrees and certificates in South Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 South Carolina colleges offer Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions.

How much do Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers earn in South Carolina?+

The average annual wage for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers in South Carolina is $43,820 (median $39,930), across about 720 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program?+

The Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions program focuses on equipping students with the skills needed to support individuals facing mental health challenges and social issues. This program is ideal for those interested…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mental Health and Substance Abuse Social Workers?+

The national job outlook is about +9.7% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Mental and Social Health Services and Allied Professions in other statesCaliforniaColoradoGeorgiaMinnesotaWashingtonNew HampshireKansasSouth Dakota

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card