Puerto Rico · Computer and Information Sciences

Best colleges for Computer and Information Sciences in Puerto Rico

Ranked by graduate earnings

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus, University of Puerto Rico and NUC University award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees and certificates in Puerto Rico: 34, 27 and 25 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Puerto Rico colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences and award 231 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

Institutions
17
offering CIP 11.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
231
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$26,312
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$9,370
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
39%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1NUC University
Bayamon Private for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$38,9682554%$9,377$13,498
2Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus
Gurabo Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$26,3123431%$9,370$17,145

Colleges awarding the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Puerto Rico

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus
Gurabo Private not-for-profit
34$26,312
2University of Puerto Rico
Bayamon Public
27Not reported
3NUC University
Bayamon Private for-profit
25$38,968
4Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Carolina Campus
Carolina Private not-for-profit
22Not reported
5University of Puerto Rico at Ponce
Ponce Public
21Not reported
6Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Cupey Campus
San Juan Private not-for-profit
20Not reported
7Inter American University of Puerto Rico-San German
San German Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
8Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Ponce
Ponce Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Dewey University - Carolina
Carolina Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
10Pontifical Catholic University of Puerto Rico-Mayaguez
Mayaguez Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
Show the other 7 Puerto Rico colleges offering Computer and Information Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Universidad Politecnica de Puerto RicoHato ReyPrivate not-for-profit44
EDP University of Puerto Rico Inc-San SebastianSan SebastianPrivate not-for-profit10
EDP University of Puerto Rico Inc-San JuanSan JuanPrivate not-for-profit4
Universidad del Sagrado CorazonSanturcePrivate not-for-profit2
Inter American University of Puerto Rico-MetroSan JuanPrivate not-for-profit1
EDP University of Puerto Rico-VillalbaVillalbaPrivate not-for-profit1
EDP University of Puerto Rico-HumacaoHumacaoPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Puerto Rico

Jobs in Puerto Rico
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Software Developers
$80,980 avg · 2,020 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$111,110 avg · 1,370 jobs
Computer Systems Analysts
$67,760 avg · 1,280 jobs
Network and Computer Systems Administrators
$59,930 avg · 890 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$63,240 avg · 880 jobs
Information Security Analysts
$66,980 avg · 500 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer and Information Sciences programs in Puerto Rico.

Which Puerto Rico colleges award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees?+

Universidad Ana G. Mendez-Gurabo Campus (34 graduates a year), University of Puerto Rico (27 graduates a year) and NUC University (25 graduates a year) award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees and certificates in Puerto Rico, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Puerto Rico colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences.

Which Computer and Information Sciences program in Puerto Rico has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, NUC University tops the list at $38,968. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Computer and Information Sciences program?+

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card