Best colleges for Statistics in Pennsylvania
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Pennsylvania, Carnegie Mellon University and Pennsylvania State University are the top bachelor's Statistics programs in Pennsylvania by graduate earnings. University of Pennsylvania leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $129,732, College Scorecard. Carnegie Mellon University, Pennsylvania State University and University of Pennsylvania award the most Statistics degrees in Pennsylvania: 160, 90 and 71 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Pennsylvania colleges offer Statistics and award 545 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Statistics program focuses on the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data. This field is essential for making informed decisions based on quantitative information and is suitable for students interested in…
Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $129,732 | 71 | 97% | $22,055 | — |
| 2 | Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $93,111 | 160 | 94% | $23,803 | $21,375 |
| 3 | Pennsylvania State University University Park Public · Bachelor's degree | $68,254 | 90 | 86% | — | $22,500 |
| 4 | Temple University Philadelphia Public · Bachelor's degree | $60,765 | 24 | 75% | — | $26,816 |
Colleges awarding the most Statistics degrees in Pennsylvania
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh Private not-for-profit | 160 | $93,111 |
| 2 | Pennsylvania State University University Park Public | 90 | $68,254 |
| 3 | University of Pennsylvania Philadelphia Private not-for-profit | 71 | $129,732 |
| 4 | University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus Pittsburgh Public | 28 | Not reported |
| 5 | West Chester University of Pennsylvania West Chester Public | 25 | Not reported |
| 6 | Temple University Philadelphia Public | 24 | $60,765 |
| 7 | Villanova University Villanova Private not-for-profit | 21 | Not reported |
| 8 | Robert Morris University Moon Township Private not-for-profit | 17 | Not reported |
| 9 | Lehigh University Bethlehem Private not-for-profit | 12 | Not reported |
| 10 | Harrisburg University of Science and Technology Harrisburg Private not-for-profit | 8 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 5 Pennsylvania colleges offering Statistics
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pennsylvania State University - World Campus (Online) | University Park | Public | 75 |
| Pennsylvania Western University | California | Public | 7 |
| Bucknell University | Lewisburg | Private not-for-profit | 4 |
| Haverford College | Haverford | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania | Shippensburg | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Statisticians (SOC 15-2041).
Top skills
What Statisticians earn in Pennsylvania
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Statistics programs in Pennsylvania.
Which Pennsylvania colleges award the most Statistics degrees?+
Carnegie Mellon University (160 graduates a year), Pennsylvania State University (90 graduates a year) and University of Pennsylvania (71 graduates a year) award the most Statistics degrees in Pennsylvania, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Pennsylvania colleges offer Statistics.
What is the best college for Statistics in Pennsylvania?+
By graduate earnings, University of Pennsylvania leads among bachelor's Statistics programs in Pennsylvania, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $129,732, College Scorecard. Carnegie Mellon University and Pennsylvania State University follow. By degrees awarded, Carnegie Mellon University is the largest, with 160 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Statistics program in Pennsylvania has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Pennsylvania tops the list at $129,732. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Statisticians earn in Pennsylvania?+
The average annual wage for Statisticians in Pennsylvania is $104,240 (median $93,830), across about 1,630 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Statistics program?+
The Statistics program focuses on the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data. This field is essential for making informed decisions based on quantitative information and is suitable for students interested in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop mathematics, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Statisticians?+
The national job outlook is about +8.5% growth with around 2,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card