Massachusetts · Statistics

Best colleges for Statistics in Massachusetts

Ranked by graduate earnings

Harvard University, Boston University and University of Massachusetts-Amherst award the most Statistics degrees and certificates in Massachusetts: 120, 56 and 16 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 10 Massachusetts colleges offer Statistics and award 229 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Statistics program focuses on the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data. This field is essential for making informed decisions based on quantitative information and is suitable for students interested in…

Institutions
10
offering CIP 27.05
States offered
49
with a program page
Degrees / yr
229
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$69,250
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
2
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,956
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
88%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Statisticians
$114,210
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 2 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Harvard University
Cambridge Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$141,11612098%$15,013—
2Smith College
Northampton Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$69,250989%$17,183—

Colleges awarding the most Statistics degrees in Massachusetts

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Harvard University
Cambridge Private not-for-profit
120$141,116
2Boston University
Boston Private not-for-profit
56Not reported
3University of Massachusetts-Amherst
Amherst Public
16Not reported
4Smith College
Northampton Private not-for-profit
9$69,250
5Tufts University
Medford Private not-for-profit
8Not reported
6Mount Holyoke College
South Hadley Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
7Williams College
Williamstown Private not-for-profit
5Not reported
8Amherst College
Amherst Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Worcester Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
10University of Massachusetts-Lowell
Lowell Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Statisticians (SOC 15-2041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+8.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$103,300
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingSpeakingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Statisticians earn in Massachusetts

Jobs in Massachusetts
2,480
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$114,210
median $96,710
Best-paying metro
$119,950
Boston-Cambridge-Newton, MA-NH

Related careers

Data Scientists
$136,460 avg · 9,420 jobs
Statisticians
$114,210 avg · 2,480 jobs
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$100,910 avg · 1,880 jobs
Survey Researchers
$68,860 avg · 160 jobs
Mathematicians
$103,600 avg · 40 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Statistics programs in Massachusetts.

Which Massachusetts colleges award the most Statistics degrees?+

Harvard University (120 graduates a year), Boston University (56 graduates a year) and University of Massachusetts-Amherst (16 graduates a year) award the most Statistics degrees and certificates in Massachusetts, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 10 Massachusetts colleges offer Statistics.

Which Statistics program in Massachusetts has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Harvard University tops the list at $141,116. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Statisticians earn in Massachusetts?+

The average annual wage for Statisticians in Massachusetts is $114,210 (median $96,710), across about 2,480 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Statistics program?+

The Statistics program focuses on the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data. This field is essential for making informed decisions based on quantitative information and is suitable for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Statisticians?+

The national job outlook is about +8.5% growth with around 2,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card