Pennsylvania · Computer Software and Media Applications

Best colleges for Computer Software and Media Applications in Pennsylvania

Ranked by graduate earnings

Robert Morris University, Drexel University and Carnegie Mellon University award the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees and certificates in Pennsylvania: 86, 83 and 71 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 25 Pennsylvania colleges offer Computer Software and Media Applications and award 568 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer Software and Media Applications program focuses on the design, development, and implementation of software systems and media applications. It is ideal for individuals interested in combining creativity with technical skills to…

Institutions
25
offering CIP 11.08
States offered
50
with a program page
Degrees / yr
568
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$41,394
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,843
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
48%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Software Developers
$128,110
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Duquesne University
Pittsburgh Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$41,3942277%$32,060$27,000
2Pennsylvania College of Technology
Williamsport Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$43,144953%—$28,360
3Harrisburg Area Community College
Harrisburg Public · Associate degree
$35,2842721%—$17,500

Colleges awarding the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees in Pennsylvania

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Robert Morris University
Moon Township Private not-for-profit
86Not reported
2Drexel University
Philadelphia Private not-for-profit
83Not reported
3Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh Private not-for-profit
71Not reported
4Temple University
Philadelphia Public
69Not reported
5University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
Pittsburgh Public
66Not reported
6University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia Private not-for-profit
60Not reported
7Duquesne University
Pittsburgh Private not-for-profit
22$41,394
8Kutztown University of Pennsylvania
Kutztown Public
10Not reported
9Butler County Community College
Butler Public
9Not reported
10Pennsylvania College of Technology
Williamsport Public
9$43,144
Show the other 15 Pennsylvania colleges offering Computer Software and Media Applications

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Software Developers (SOC 15-1252).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.8%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~115,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$133,080
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningActive ListeningWritingSpeaking

What Software Developers earn in Pennsylvania

Jobs in Pennsylvania
55,920
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$128,110
median $126,550
Best-paying metro
$136,050
Philadelphia-Camden-Wilmington, PA-NJ-DE-MD

Related careers

Software Developers
$128,110 avg · 55,920 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$169,100 avg · 27,060 jobs
Data Scientists
$110,810 avg · 13,810 jobs
Graphic Designers
$66,620 avg · 8,150 jobs
Career/Technical Education Teachers, Postsecondary
$71,090 avg · 4,780 jobs
Computer Programmers
$95,820 avg · 3,120 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer Software and Media Applications programs in Pennsylvania.

Which Pennsylvania colleges award the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees?+

Robert Morris University (86 graduates a year), Drexel University (83 graduates a year) and Carnegie Mellon University (71 graduates a year) award the most Computer Software and Media Applications degrees and certificates in Pennsylvania, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 25 Pennsylvania colleges offer Computer Software and Media Applications.

Which Computer Software and Media Applications program in Pennsylvania has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Duquesne University tops the list at $41,394. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Software Developers earn in Pennsylvania?+

The average annual wage for Software Developers in Pennsylvania is $128,110 (median $126,550), across about 55,920 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer Software and Media Applications program?+

The Computer Software and Media Applications program focuses on the design, development, and implementation of software systems and media applications. It is ideal for individuals interested in combining creativity with technical skills to…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, active listening, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Software Developers?+

The national job outlook is about +15.8% growth with around 115,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Computer Software and Media Applications in other statesMichiganColoradoIllinoisWisconsinMinnesotaVermontMissouriIdaho

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card