Pennsylvania · Communication Disorders Sciences and Services

Best colleges for Communication Disorders Sciences and Services in Pennsylvania

Ranked by graduate earnings

Pennsylvania Western University, Temple University and Pennsylvania State University are the top bachelor's Communication Disorders Sciences and Services programs in Pennsylvania by graduate earnings. Pennsylvania Western University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $25,662, College Scorecard. Pennsylvania State University, University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus and Pennsylvania Western University award the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees in Pennsylvania: 135, 131 and 126 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 26 Pennsylvania colleges offer Communication Disorders Sciences and Services and award 1,298 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program focuses on understanding and addressing various communication disorders, including speech, language, and hearing issues. This program is ideal for students interested in helping…

Institutions
26
offering CIP 51.02
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,298
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$16,853
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
4
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,402
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
65%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Speech-Language Pathologists
$93,720
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 4 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Pennsylvania Western University
California Public · Bachelor's degree
$25,66212652%—$24,450
2Temple University
Philadelphia Public · Bachelor's degree
$17,8267875%—$26,000
3Pennsylvania State University
University Park Public · Bachelor's degree
$16,85313586%—$25,000
4East Stroudsburg University of Pennsylvania
East Stroudsburg Public · Bachelor's degree
$12,6213343%—$26,000

Colleges awarding the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees in Pennsylvania

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Pennsylvania State University
University Park Public
135$16,853
2University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus
Pittsburgh Public
131Not reported
3Pennsylvania Western University
California Public
126$25,662
4Drexel University
Philadelphia Private not-for-profit
92Not reported
5West Chester University of Pennsylvania
West Chester Public
87Not reported
6Temple University
Philadelphia Public
78$17,826
7Commonwealth University of Pennsylvania
Bloomsburg Public
77Not reported
8Lebanon Valley College
Annville Private not-for-profit
58Not reported
9Duquesne University
Pittsburgh Private not-for-profit
54Not reported
10Indiana University of Pennsylvania
Indiana Public
54Not reported
Show the other 16 Pennsylvania colleges offering Communication Disorders Sciences and Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Misericordia UniversityDallasPrivate not-for-profit47
Delaware Valley UniversityDoylestownPrivate not-for-profit44
Marywood UniversityScrantonPrivate not-for-profit42
La Salle UniversityPhiladelphiaPrivate not-for-profit38
East Stroudsburg University of PennsylvaniaEast StroudsburgPublic33
DeSales UniversityCenter ValleyPrivate not-for-profit27
Thiel CollegeGreenvillePrivate not-for-profit25
Thomas Jefferson UniversityPhiladelphiaPrivate not-for-profit25
Carlow UniversityPittsburghPrivate not-for-profit24
University of ScrantonScrantonPrivate not-for-profit22
Widener UniversityChesterPrivate not-for-profit22
Moravian UniversityBethlehemPrivate not-for-profit19
Gannon UniversityEriePrivate not-for-profit18
Geneva CollegeBeaver FallsPrivate not-for-profit9
Pennsylvania State University - Penn State HarrisburgMiddletownPublic7
Saint Joseph's University - PhiladelphiaPhiladelphiaPrivate not-for-profit4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Speech-Language Pathologists (SOC 29-1127).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+15.0%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~13,300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$95,410
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingSpeakingLearning Strategies

What Speech-Language Pathologists earn in Pennsylvania

Jobs in Pennsylvania
6,570
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$93,720
median $92,960
Best-paying metro
$109,390
Gettysburg, PA

Related careers

Speech-Language Pathologists
$93,720 avg · 6,570 jobs
Audiologists
$92,980 avg · 460 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Communication Disorders Sciences and Services programs in Pennsylvania.

Which Pennsylvania colleges award the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees?+

Pennsylvania State University (135 graduates a year), University of Pittsburgh-Pittsburgh Campus (131 graduates a year) and Pennsylvania Western University (126 graduates a year) award the most Communication Disorders Sciences and Services degrees in Pennsylvania, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 26 Pennsylvania colleges offer Communication Disorders Sciences and Services.

What is the best college for Communication Disorders Sciences and Services in Pennsylvania?+

By graduate earnings, Pennsylvania Western University leads among bachelor's Communication Disorders Sciences and Services programs in Pennsylvania, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $25,662, College Scorecard. Temple University and Pennsylvania State University follow. By degrees awarded, Pennsylvania State University is the largest, with 135 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program in Pennsylvania has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Pennsylvania Western University tops the list at $25,662. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Speech-Language Pathologists earn in Pennsylvania?+

The average annual wage for Speech-Language Pathologists in Pennsylvania is $93,720 (median $92,960), across about 6,570 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program?+

The Communication Disorders Sciences and Services program focuses on understanding and addressing various communication disorders, including speech, language, and hearing issues. This program is ideal for students interested in helping…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Speech-Language Pathologists?+

The national job outlook is about +15.0% growth with around 13,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Communication Disorders Sciences and Services in other statesNevadaArizonaOregonRhode IslandIllinoisMassachusettsMarylandMissouri

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card