Oregon · Computer and Information Sciences

Best colleges for Computer and Information Sciences in Oregon

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Oregon, Portland State University and Eastern Oregon University award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Oregon: 112, 75 and 28 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Oregon colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences and award 422 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

Institutions
17
offering CIP 11.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
422
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$55,340
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
5
College Scorecard
Median net price
$28,272
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
44%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
$215,420
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Oregon
Eugene Public · Bachelor's degree
$70,05511272%—$24,764
2Western Oregon University
Monmouth Public · Bachelor's degree
$51,7032847%—$26,000
3Oregon Institute of Technology
Klamath Falls Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$58,2531354%—$24,500
4George Fox University
Newberg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$55,3401472%$26,564—
5Southern Oregon University
Ashland Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$51,1671443%—$33,500

Colleges awarding the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Oregon

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Oregon
Eugene Public
112$70,055
2Portland State University
Portland Public
75Not reported
3Eastern Oregon University
La Grande Public
28Not reported
4Western Oregon University
Monmouth Public
28$51,703
5George Fox University
Newberg Private not-for-profit
14$55,340
6Southern Oregon University
Ashland Public
14$51,167
7Oregon Institute of Technology
Klamath Falls Public
13$58,253
8Oregon State University
Corvallis Public
13Not reported
9Blue Mountain Community College
Pendleton Public
10Not reported
10Reed College
Portland Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
Show the other 7 Oregon colleges offering Computer and Information Sciences

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Oregon

Jobs in Oregon
730
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$215,420
median $206,220
Best-paying metro
$223,160
Portland-Vancouver-Hillsboro, OR-WA

Related careers

Software Developers
$149,060 avg · 21,830 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$180,880 avg · 7,440 jobs
Computer Systems Analysts
$123,690 avg · 5,640 jobs
Network and Computer Systems Administrators
$104,620 avg · 4,880 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$105,290 avg · 2,450 jobs
Information Security Analysts
— avg · 2,250 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer and Information Sciences programs in Oregon.

Which Oregon colleges award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees?+

University of Oregon (112 graduates a year), Portland State University (75 graduates a year) and Eastern Oregon University (28 graduates a year) award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Oregon, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Oregon colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences.

Which Computer and Information Sciences program in Oregon has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Oregon tops the list at $70,055. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Oregon?+

The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Oregon is $215,420 (median $206,220), across about 730 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Computer and Information Sciences program?+

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card