Ohio · Museology/Museum Studies

Best colleges for Museology/Museum Studies in Ohio

Ranked by graduates a year

Ohio University, University of Akron Main Campus and University of Cincinnati award the most Museology/Museum Studies degrees and certificates in Ohio: 16, 10 and 8 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 4 Ohio colleges offer Museology/Museum Studies and award 37 degrees and certificates a year in all.

Museology/Museum Studies is an interdisciplinary program focused on the study of museums, their history, and their societal roles. This program is ideal for students interested in curating, preservation, public programming, and education…

Institutions
4
offering CIP 30.14
States offered
34
with a program page
Degrees / yr
37
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$18,964
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
62%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Museum Technicians and Conservators
$52,700
BLS OEWS May 2025

4 institutions offering Museology/Museum Studies in Ohio

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Ohio University
Athens Public
—1665%——
2University of Akron Main Campus
Akron Public
—1052%——
3University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati Public
—875%——
4Walsh University
North Canton Private not-for-profit
—358%$18,964—

Colleges awarding the most Museology/Museum Studies degrees in Ohio

Top 4 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Ohio University
Athens Public
16Not reported
2University of Akron Main Campus
Akron Public
10Not reported
3University of Cincinnati
Cincinnati Public
8Not reported
4Walsh University
North Canton Private not-for-profit
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Museum Technicians and Conservators (SOC 25-4013).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.4%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~1,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$47,460
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingWritingMonitoring

What Museum Technicians and Conservators earn in Ohio

Jobs in Ohio
350
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$52,700
median $47,570
Best-paying metro
$58,340
Dayton-Kettering-Beavercreek, OH

Related careers

Curators
$69,920 avg · 370 jobs
Museum Technicians and Conservators
$52,700 avg · 350 jobs
Archivists
$59,200 avg · 150 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Museology/Museum Studies programs in Ohio.

Which Ohio colleges award the most Museology/Museum Studies degrees?+

Ohio University (16 graduates a year), University of Akron Main Campus (10 graduates a year) and University of Cincinnati (8 graduates a year) award the most Museology/Museum Studies degrees and certificates in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 4 Ohio colleges offer Museology/Museum Studies.

How much do Museum Technicians and Conservators earn in Ohio?+

The average annual wage for Museum Technicians and Conservators in Ohio is $52,700 (median $47,570), across about 350 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Museology/Museum Studies program?+

Museology/Museum Studies is an interdisciplinary program focused on the study of museums, their history, and their societal roles. This program is ideal for students interested in curating, preservation, public programming, and education…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, reading comprehension, critical thinking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Museum Technicians and Conservators?+

The national job outlook is about +5.4% growth with around 1,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card