Best colleges for Medicine in Ohio
Ranked by graduates a year
Ohio University, Case Western Reserve University and Ohio State University award the most Medicine degrees and certificates in Ohio: 237, 204 and 196 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Ohio colleges offer Medicine and award 1,335 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Medicine program focuses on the science and practice of caring for patients, encompassing the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of illness and injury. This program is designed for individuals passionate about health care and…
8 institutions offering Medicine in Ohio
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ohio University Athens Public | — | 237 | 65% | — | — |
| 2 | Case Western Reserve University Cleveland Private not-for-profit | — | 204 | 87% | $27,976 | — |
| 3 | Ohio State University Columbus Public | — | 196 | 88% | — | — |
| 4 | University of Cincinnati Cincinnati Public | — | 170 | 75% | — | — |
| 5 | University of Toledo Toledo Public | — | 165 | 57% | — | — |
| 6 | Northeast Ohio Medical University Rootstown Public Graduate only | — | 147 | — | — | — |
| 7 | Wright State University Dayton Public | — | 128 | 42% | — | — |
| 8 | Kent State University at Kent Kent Public | — | 88 | 64% | — | — |
Colleges awarding the most Medicine degrees in Ohio
Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Ohio University Athens Public | 237 | Not reported |
| 2 | Case Western Reserve University Cleveland Private not-for-profit | 204 | Not reported |
| 3 | Ohio State University Columbus Public | 196 | Not reported |
| 4 | University of Cincinnati Cincinnati Public | 170 | Not reported |
| 5 | University of Toledo Toledo Public | 165 | Not reported |
| 6 | Wright State University Dayton Public | 128 | Not reported |
| 7 | Kent State University at Kent Kent Public | 88 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 1 Ohio colleges offering Medicine
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Northeast Ohio Medical University (Graduate only) | Rootstown | Public | 147 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: General Internal Medicine Physicians (SOC 29-1216).
Top skills
What General Internal Medicine Physicians earn in Ohio
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Medicine programs in Ohio.
Which Ohio colleges award the most Medicine degrees?+
Ohio University (237 graduates a year), Case Western Reserve University (204 graduates a year) and Ohio State University (196 graduates a year) award the most Medicine degrees and certificates in Ohio, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Ohio colleges offer Medicine.
How much do General Internal Medicine Physicians earn in Ohio?+
The average annual wage for General Internal Medicine Physicians in Ohio is $286,650 (median $249,990), across about 1,540 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Medicine program?+
The Medicine program focuses on the science and practice of caring for patients, encompassing the diagnosis, treatment, and prevention of illness and injury. This program is designed for individuals passionate about health care and…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for General Internal Medicine Physicians?+
The national job outlook is about +2.7% growth with around 3,300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card