Best colleges for Liberal Arts and Sciences in North Carolina
Ranked by graduate earnings
Belmont Abbey College, North Carolina State University at Raleigh and East Carolina University are the top bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in North Carolina by graduate earnings. Belmont Abbey College leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,654, College Scorecard. Pitt Community College, East Carolina University and North Carolina A & T State University award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in North Carolina: 480, 212 and 176 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 92 North Carolina colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences and award 18,723 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Belmont Abbey College Belmont Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $46,654 | 37 | 47% | $22,639 | $33,291 |
| 2 | North Carolina State University at Raleigh Raleigh Public · Bachelor's degree | $41,661 | 46 | 85% | — | $25,993 |
| 3 | East Carolina University Greenville Public · Bachelor's degree | $36,809 | 212 | 63% | — | $27,000 |
| 4 | Winston-Salem State University Winston-Salem Public · Bachelor's degree | $35,414 | 63 | 47% | — | $28,524 |
| 5 | North Carolina A & T State University Greensboro Public · Bachelor's degree | $30,397 | 176 | 57% | — | $31,000 |
| 6 | North Carolina Central University Durham Public · Bachelor's degree | $28,522 | 27 | 42% | — | $29,000 |
| 7 | Appalachian State University Boone Public · Bachelor's degree | $21,143 | 56 | 75% | — | $24,977 |
| 8 | University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill Chapel Hill Public · Bachelor's degree Small program | $37,709 | 19 | 91% | — | $13,000 |
| 9 | Johnson & Wales University - Charlotte Charlotte Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $37,266 | 1 | 49% | $29,446 | $28,090 |
| 10 | Johnson C Smith University Charlotte Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program | $33,847 | 14 | 34% | $21,563 | $36,285 |
Top 10 certificate and associate programs
Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Randolph Community College Asheboro Public · Associate degree | $40,145 | 182 | 58% | — | — |
| 2 | Beaufort County Community College Washington Public · Associate degree | $38,009 | 249 | 48% | — | $7,947 |
| 3 | University of Mount Olive Mount Olive Private not-for-profit · Associate degree | $35,452 | 48 | 52% | $16,473 | $27,562 |
| 4 | Vance-Granville Community College Henderson Public · Associate degree | $34,109 | 274 | 53% | — | — |
| 5 | Lenoir Community College Kinston Public · Associate degree | $33,374 | 156 | 36% | — | $9,118 |
| 6 | Carteret Community College Morehead City Public · Associate degree | $31,113 | 99 | 49% | — | $5,566 |
| 7 | Rockingham Community College Wentworth Public · Associate degree | $30,865 | 147 | 35% | — | $5,500 |
| 8 | Wake Technical Community College Raleigh Public · Associate degree | $30,373 | 1,633 | 33% | — | $11,000 |
| 9 | Cape Fear Community College Wilmington Public · Associate degree | $30,056 | 1,217 | 34% | — | $8,734 |
| 10 | Asheville-Buncombe Technical Community College Asheville Public · Associate degree | $29,456 | 306 | 40% | — | $12,397 |
Colleges awarding the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in North Carolina
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Pitt Community College Winterville Public | 480 | Not reported |
| 2 | East Carolina University Greenville Public | 212 | $36,809 |
| 3 | North Carolina A & T State University Greensboro Public | 176 | $30,397 |
| 4 | Southeastern Community College Whiteville Public | 154 | Not reported |
| 5 | Halifax Community College Weldon Public | 143 | Not reported |
| 6 | McDowell Technical Community College Marion Public | 114 | Not reported |
| 7 | Isothermal Community College Spindale Public | 96 | Not reported |
| 8 | Martin Community College Williamston Public | 87 | Not reported |
| 9 | Montgomery Community College Troy Public | 74 | Not reported |
| 10 | Winston-Salem State University Winston-Salem Public | 63 | $35,414 |
ShowHide the other 82 North Carolina colleges offering Liberal Arts and Sciences
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Postsecondary Teachers, All Other (SOC 25-1199).
What Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in North Carolina
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in North Carolina.
Which North Carolina colleges award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees?+
Pitt Community College (480 graduates a year), East Carolina University (212 graduates a year) and North Carolina A & T State University (176 graduates a year) award the most Liberal Arts and Sciences degrees in North Carolina, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 92 North Carolina colleges offer Liberal Arts and Sciences.
What is the best college for Liberal Arts and Sciences in North Carolina?+
By graduate earnings, Belmont Abbey College leads among bachelor's Liberal Arts and Sciences programs in North Carolina, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $46,654, College Scorecard. North Carolina State University at Raleigh and East Carolina University follow. By degrees awarded, Pitt Community College is the largest, with 480 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Liberal Arts and Sciences program in North Carolina has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Belmont Abbey College tops the list at $46,654. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Postsecondary Teachers, All Other earn in North Carolina?+
The average annual wage for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other in North Carolina is $88,990 (median $74,240), across about 2,030 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Liberal Arts and Sciences program?+
The Liberal Arts and Sciences program, formally known as Liberal Arts and Sciences, General Studies and Humanities, offers a broad educational foundation in various disciplines. This program is designed for students seeking a well-rounded…
What is the job outlook for Postsecondary Teachers, All Other?+
The national job outlook is about +1.8% growth with around 13,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Doctoral or professional degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card