New Mexico · Natural Resources Conservation and Research

Best colleges for Natural Resources Conservation and Research in New Mexico

Ranked by graduates a year

University of New Mexico, New Mexico State University and New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology award the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees and certificates in New Mexico: 11, 9 and 2 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 New Mexico colleges offer Natural Resources Conservation and Research and award 30 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Natural Resources Conservation and Research program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of natural resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges and promote…

Institutions
8
offering CIP 03.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
30
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
38%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Conservation Scientists
$79,030
BLS OEWS May 2025

8 institutions offering Natural Resources Conservation and Research in New Mexico

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of New Mexico
Albuquerque Public
—1155%——
2New Mexico State University
Las Cruces Public
—955%——
3Northern New Mexico College
Espanola Public
—429%——
4New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Socorro Public
—257%——
5Navajo Technical University
Crownpoint Public
—112%——
6Eastern New Mexico University
Portales Public
—145%——
7Santa Fe Community College
Santa Fe Public
—123%——
8Western New Mexico University
Silver City Public
—132%——

Colleges awarding the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees in New Mexico

Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of New Mexico
Albuquerque Public
11Not reported
2New Mexico State University
Las Cruces Public
9Not reported
3New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology
Socorro Public
2Not reported
4Eastern New Mexico University
Portales Public
1Not reported
5Western New Mexico University
Silver City Public
1Not reported
Show the other 3 New Mexico colleges offering Natural Resources Conservation and Research
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Northern New Mexico CollegeEspanolaPublic4
Navajo Technical UniversityCrownpointPublic1
Santa Fe Community CollegeSanta FePublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Conservation Scientists (SOC 19-1031).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$67,950
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingScienceWritingCritical Thinking

What Conservation Scientists earn in New Mexico

Jobs in New Mexico
330
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$79,030
median $76,800
Best-paying metro
$87,790
Albuquerque, NM

Related careers

Compliance Officers
$76,920 avg · 2,400 jobs
Environmental Scientists and Specialists, Including Health
$92,050 avg · 940 jobs
Forest and Conservation Technicians
$58,890 avg · 880 jobs
Environmental Science and Protection Technicians, Including Health
$70,810 avg · 500 jobs
Conservation Scientists
$79,030 avg · 330 jobs
Foresters
$72,920 avg · 50 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Natural Resources Conservation and Research programs in New Mexico.

Which New Mexico colleges award the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees?+

University of New Mexico (11 graduates a year), New Mexico State University (9 graduates a year) and New Mexico Institute of Mining and Technology (2 graduates a year) award the most Natural Resources Conservation and Research degrees and certificates in New Mexico, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 New Mexico colleges offer Natural Resources Conservation and Research.

How much do Conservation Scientists earn in New Mexico?+

The average annual wage for Conservation Scientists in New Mexico is $79,030 (median $76,800), across about 330 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Natural Resources Conservation and Research program?+

The Natural Resources Conservation and Research program focuses on the sustainable management and conservation of natural resources. It equips students with the knowledge and skills necessary to address environmental challenges and promote…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, science, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Conservation Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +3.4% growth with around 2,500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Natural Resources Conservation and Research in other statesAlabamaDistrict of ColumbiaWest VirginiaKansasOklahomaNew JerseyArizonaRhode Island

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card