New Jersey · Student Counseling and Personnel Services

Best colleges for Student Counseling and Personnel Services in New Jersey

Ranked by graduates a year

Montclair State University, Kean University and The College of New Jersey award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees and certificates in New Jersey: 117, 62 and 55 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 New Jersey colleges offer Student Counseling and Personnel Services and award 462 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Student Counseling and Personnel Services program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to support and enhance student success in higher education. This program is ideal for individuals interested in becoming student…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 13.11
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
462
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,844
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
62%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$81,430
BLS OEWS May 2025

12 institutions offering Student Counseling and Personnel Services in New Jersey

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Montclair State University
Montclair Public
—11765%——
2Kean University
Union Public
—6247%——
3The College of New Jersey
Ewing Public
—5586%——
4New Jersey City University
Jersey City Public
—4834%——
5Seton Hall University
South Orange Private not-for-profit
—4769%$27,376—
6William Paterson University of New Jersey
Wayne Public
—4344%——
7Rowan University
Glassboro Public
—3267%——
8Rutgers University - New Brunswick
New Brunswick Public
—2884%——
9Monmouth University
West Long Branch Private not-for-profit
—1672%$28,514—
10Rider University
Lawrenceville Private not-for-profit
—661%$23,844—
11Centenary University
Hackettstown Private not-for-profit
—456%$17,490—
12Saint Peter's University
Jersey City Private not-for-profit
—458%$14,440—

Colleges awarding the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees in New Jersey

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Montclair State University
Montclair Public
117Not reported
2Kean University
Union Public
62Not reported
3The College of New Jersey
Ewing Public
55Not reported
4New Jersey City University
Jersey City Public
48Not reported
5Seton Hall University
South Orange Private not-for-profit
47Not reported
6William Paterson University of New Jersey
Wayne Public
43Not reported
7Rowan University
Glassboro Public
32Not reported
8Rutgers University - New Brunswick
New Brunswick Public
28Not reported
9Monmouth University
West Long Branch Private not-for-profit
16Not reported
10Rider University
Lawrenceville Private not-for-profit
6Not reported
Show the other 2 New Jersey colleges offering Student Counseling and Personnel Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Centenary UniversityHackettstownPrivate not-for-profit4
Saint Peter's UniversityJersey CityPrivate not-for-profit4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors (SOC 21-1012).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.5%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~31,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$65,140
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningSpeakingCritical ThinkingWritingReading ComprehensionMonitoring

What Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors earn in New Jersey

Jobs in New Jersey
8,190
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$81,430
median $77,910
Best-paying metro
$80,000
Atlantic City-Hammonton, NJ

Related careers

Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$81,430 avg · 8,190 jobs
Residential Advisors
$48,560 avg · 1,630 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Student Counseling and Personnel Services programs in New Jersey.

Which New Jersey colleges award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees?+

Montclair State University (117 graduates a year), Kean University (62 graduates a year) and The College of New Jersey (55 graduates a year) award the most Student Counseling and Personnel Services degrees and certificates in New Jersey, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 New Jersey colleges offer Student Counseling and Personnel Services.

How much do Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors earn in New Jersey?+

The average annual wage for Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors in New Jersey is $81,430 (median $77,910), across about 8,190 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Student Counseling and Personnel Services program?+

The Student Counseling and Personnel Services program focuses on equipping students with the skills necessary to support and enhance student success in higher education. This program is ideal for individuals interested in becoming student…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors?+

The national job outlook is about +3.5% growth with around 31,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Student Counseling and Personnel Services in other statesMassachusettsAlabamaAlaskaArizonaArkansasCaliforniaMinnesotaColorado

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card