New Jersey · Human Resources Management and Services

Best colleges for Human Resources Management and Services in New Jersey

Ranked by graduate earnings

Seton Hall University, Rutgers University - New Brunswick and Rowan University are the top bachelor's Human Resources Management and Services programs in New Jersey by graduate earnings. Seton Hall University leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,285, College Scorecard. Rutgers University - New Brunswick, Seton Hall University and Rowan University award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in New Jersey: 387, 56 and 40 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 12 New Jersey colleges offer Human Resources Management and Services and award 566 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Human Resources Management and Services program prepares students for effective management of people within organizations. This program focuses on policies and systems related to employee recruitment, training, performance appraisal,…

Institutions
12
offering CIP 52.10
States & territories
52
with a program page
Degrees / yr
566
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$49,441
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
6
College Scorecard
Median net price
$27,376
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Human Resources Managers
$186,360
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 5 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Seton Hall University
South Orange Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$52,2855669%$27,376$23,032
2Rutgers University - New Brunswick
New Brunswick Public · Bachelor's degree
$49,44138784%—$25,750
3Rowan University
Glassboro Public · Bachelor's degree
$47,9834067%—$22,850
4Rider University
Lawrenceville Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$40,9412261%$23,844$27,000
5Thomas Edison State University
Trenton Public · Bachelor's degree Degree completion
$53,38225——$25,625

Colleges awarding the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in New Jersey

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. * Campuses that share a federal aid ID report one College Scorecard figure.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Rutgers University - New Brunswick
New Brunswick Public
387$49,441*
2Seton Hall University
South Orange Private not-for-profit
56$52,285
3Rowan University
Glassboro Public
40$47,983
4Rider University
Lawrenceville Private not-for-profit
22$40,941
5Montclair State University
Montclair Public
19Not reported
6Rowan College of South Jersey-Gloucester Campus
Sewell Public
4Not reported
7Stevens Institute of Technology
Hoboken Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
8Rutgers University - Camden
Camden Public
2$49,441*
9Saint Peter's University
Jersey City Private not-for-profit
2Not reported
10William Paterson University of New Jersey
Wayne Public
1Not reported
Show the other 2 New Jersey colleges offering Human Resources Management and Services
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Thomas Edison State University (Degree completion)TrentonPublic25
Strayer University - New Jersey (Online)PiscatawayPrivate for-profit4

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Human Resources Managers (SOC 11-3121).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+5.0%
Faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~17,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,030
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

Active ListeningReading ComprehensionSpeakingWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Human Resources Managers earn in New Jersey

Jobs in New Jersey
6,400
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$186,360
median $172,440
Best-paying metro
$177,630
Trenton-Princeton, NJ

Related careers

Human Resources Specialists
$89,170 avg · 21,690 jobs
Compliance Officers
$103,950 avg · 13,310 jobs
Training and Development Specialists
$81,390 avg · 9,210 jobs
Educational, Guidance, and Career Counselors and Advisors
$81,430 avg · 8,190 jobs
Human Resources Managers
$186,360 avg · 6,400 jobs
Human Resources Assistants, Except Payroll and Timekeeping
$54,620 avg · 4,000 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Human Resources Management and Services programs in New Jersey.

Which New Jersey colleges award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees?+

Rutgers University - New Brunswick (387 graduates a year), Seton Hall University (56 graduates a year) and Rowan University (40 graduates a year) award the most Human Resources Management and Services degrees in New Jersey, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 12 New Jersey colleges offer Human Resources Management and Services.

What is the best college for Human Resources Management and Services in New Jersey?+

By graduate earnings, Seton Hall University leads among bachelor's Human Resources Management and Services programs in New Jersey, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $52,285, College Scorecard. Rutgers University - New Brunswick and Rowan University follow. By degrees awarded, Rutgers University - New Brunswick is the largest, with 387 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Human Resources Management and Services program in New Jersey has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Seton Hall University tops the list at $52,285. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Human Resources Managers earn in New Jersey?+

The average annual wage for Human Resources Managers in New Jersey is $186,360 (median $172,440), across about 6,400 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Human Resources Management and Services program?+

The Human Resources Management and Services program prepares students for effective management of people within organizations. This program focuses on policies and systems related to employee recruitment, training, performance appraisal,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop active listening, reading comprehension, speaking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Human Resources Managers?+

The national job outlook is about +5.0% growth with around 17,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Human Resources Management and Services in other statesRhode IslandIdahoColoradoUtahDelawareDistrict of ColumbiaVirginiaMaryland

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card