New Jersey · City/Urban

Best colleges for City/Urban in New Jersey

Ranked by graduates a year

Rutgers University - New Brunswick and Rowan University award the most City/Urban degrees and certificates in New Jersey: 22 and 9 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 2 New Jersey colleges offer City/Urban and award 31 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning program focuses on the study of urban settlements and their development. It encompasses various disciplines, including geography, sociology, and urban design, to equip students with the…

Institutions
2
offering CIP 04.03
States offered
41
with a program page
Degrees / yr
31
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
—
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
76%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Urban and Regional Planners
$94,620
BLS OEWS May 2025

2 institutions offering City/Urban in New Jersey

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Rutgers University - New Brunswick
New Brunswick Public
—2284%——
2Rowan University
Glassboro Public
—967%——

Colleges awarding the most City/Urban degrees in New Jersey

Top 2 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Rutgers University - New Brunswick
New Brunswick Public
22Not reported
2Rowan University
Glassboro Public
9Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Urban and Regional Planners (SOC 19-3051).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$83,720
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Urban and Regional Planners earn in New Jersey

Jobs in New Jersey
790
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$94,620
median $86,280
Best-paying metro
$105,630
Trenton-Princeton, NJ

Related careers

Urban and Regional Planners
$94,620 avg · 790 jobs
Architecture Teachers, Postsecondary
$93,990 avg · 330 jobs
Social Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary, All Other
$78,320 avg · 130 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing City/Urban programs in New Jersey.

Which New Jersey colleges award the most City/Urban degrees?+

Rutgers University - New Brunswick (22 graduates a year) and Rowan University (9 graduates a year) award the most City/Urban degrees and certificates in New Jersey, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 2 New Jersey colleges offer City/Urban.

How much do Urban and Regional Planners earn in New Jersey?+

The average annual wage for Urban and Regional Planners in New Jersey is $94,620 (median $86,280), across about 790 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the City/Urban program?+

The City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning program focuses on the study of urban settlements and their development. It encompasses various disciplines, including geography, sociology, and urban design, to equip students with the…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Urban and Regional Planners?+

The national job outlook is about +3.4% growth with around 3,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card