New York · City/Urban

Best colleges for City/Urban in New York

Ranked by graduate earnings

Columbia University, Cornell University and New York University award the most City/Urban degrees and certificates in New York: 49, 36 and 35 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 New York colleges offer City/Urban and award 173 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning program focuses on the study of urban settlements and their development. It encompasses various disciplines, including geography, sociology, and urban design, to equip students with the…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 04.03
States offered
41
with a program page
Degrees / yr
173
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$37,131
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
1
College Scorecard
Median net price
$29,023
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
80%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Urban and Regional Planners
$98,560
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$37,1313695%$17,613$14,275

Colleges awarding the most City/Urban degrees in New York

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Columbia University
New York Private not-for-profit
49Not reported
2Cornell University
Ithaca Private not-for-profit
36$37,131
3New York University
New York Private not-for-profit
35Not reported
4Pratt Institute
Brooklyn Private not-for-profit
30Not reported
5University at Albany
Albany Public
10Not reported
6The New School
New York Private not-for-profit
9Not reported
7University at Buffalo
Buffalo Public
4Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Urban and Regional Planners (SOC 19-3051).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+3.4%
About as fast as average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,400
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$83,720
typically Master's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionWritingActive Learning

What Urban and Regional Planners earn in New York

Jobs in New York
2,420
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$98,560
median $89,630
Best-paying metro
$103,430
New York-Newark-Jersey City, NY-NJ

Related careers

Urban and Regional Planners
$98,560 avg · 2,420 jobs
Social Sciences Teachers, Postsecondary, All Other
$88,850 avg · 1,840 jobs
Architecture Teachers, Postsecondary
$113,620 avg · 1,460 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing City/Urban programs in New York.

Which New York colleges award the most City/Urban degrees?+

Columbia University (49 graduates a year), Cornell University (36 graduates a year) and New York University (35 graduates a year) award the most City/Urban degrees and certificates in New York, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 New York colleges offer City/Urban.

Which City/Urban program in New York has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Cornell University tops the list at $37,131. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Urban and Regional Planners earn in New York?+

The average annual wage for Urban and Regional Planners in New York is $98,560 (median $89,630), across about 2,420 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the City/Urban program?+

The City/Urban, Community, and Regional Planning program focuses on the study of urban settlements and their development. It encompasses various disciplines, including geography, sociology, and urban design, to equip students with the…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, critical thinking, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Urban and Regional Planners?+

The national job outlook is about +3.4% growth with around 3,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card