Nebraska · Political Science and Government

Best colleges for Political Science and Government in Nebraska

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Nebraska at Omaha, University of Nebraska-Lincoln and Creighton University award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Nebraska: 61, 55 and 14 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 7 Nebraska colleges offer Political Science and Government and award 160 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…

Institutions
7
offering CIP 45.10
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
160
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$35,311
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,225
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
60%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Political Scientists
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln Public · Bachelor's degree
$36,3645567%—$21,500
2University of Nebraska at Omaha
Omaha Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,7126147%—$22,119
3Creighton University
Omaha Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$35,3111483%$27,353$24,625

Colleges awarding the most Political Science and Government degrees in Nebraska

Top 7 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Nebraska at Omaha
Omaha Public
61$33,712
2University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Lincoln Public
55$36,364
3Creighton University
Omaha Private not-for-profit
14$35,311
4University of Nebraska at Kearney
Kearney Public
13Not reported
5Nebraska Wesleyan University
Lincoln Private not-for-profit
10Not reported
6Hastings College
Hastings Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
7Wayne State College
Wayne Public
3Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Political Scientists (SOC 19-3094).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-3.1%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$139,380
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningCritical ThinkingWriting

What Political Scientists earn in Nebraska

Jobs in Nebraska
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Social Science Research Assistants
$54,460 avg · 230 jobs
Economists
$86,280 avg · 90 jobs
Economics Teachers, Postsecondary
$129,270 avg · 90 jobs
Political Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$92,430 avg · 50 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Political Science and Government programs in Nebraska.

Which Nebraska colleges award the most Political Science and Government degrees?+

University of Nebraska at Omaha (61 graduates a year), University of Nebraska-Lincoln (55 graduates a year) and Creighton University (14 graduates a year) award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Nebraska, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 7 Nebraska colleges offer Political Science and Government.

Which Political Science and Government program in Nebraska has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Nebraska-Lincoln tops the list at $36,364. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

What is the focus of the Political Science and Government program?+

The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Political Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about -3.1% growth with around 500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card