Maryland · Political Science and Government

Best colleges for Political Science and Government in Maryland

Ranked by graduate earnings

Loyola University Maryland, University of Maryland-College Park and Towson University are the top bachelor's Political Science and Government programs in Maryland by graduate earnings. Loyola University Maryland leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,572, College Scorecard. University of Maryland-College Park, Johns Hopkins University and United States Naval Academy award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Maryland: 285, 145 and 96 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 19 Maryland colleges offer Political Science and Government and award 937 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…

Institutions
19
offering CIP 45.10
States & territories
54
with a program page
Degrees / yr
937
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$37,900
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
10
College Scorecard
Median net price
$23,136
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
61%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Political Scientists
$148,440
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Loyola University Maryland
Baltimore Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree
$44,5723479%$26,585$27,000
2University of Maryland-College Park
College Park Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,68828589%—$18,768
3Towson University
Towson Public · Bachelor's degree
$42,6485369%—$20,875
4Morgan State University
Baltimore Public · Bachelor's degree
$37,9003141%—$29,750
5University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Baltimore Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,5495870%—$22,000
6Salisbury University
Salisbury Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,3972468%—$23,160
7University of Maryland Global Campus
Adelphi Public · Bachelor's degree Online
$62,47611333%—$17,600
8Frostburg State University
Frostburg Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$41,332450%—$25,000
9Washington College
Chestertown Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$36,7411465%$24,973$24,721
10Mount St. Mary's University
Emmitsburg Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$29,8001165%$23,136$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Political Science and Government degrees in Maryland

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Maryland-College Park
College Park Public
285$42,688
2Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore Private not-for-profit
145Not reported
3United States Naval Academy
Annapolis Public
96Not reported
4University of Maryland-Baltimore County
Baltimore Public
58$33,549
5Towson University
Towson Public
53$42,648
6Loyola University Maryland
Baltimore Private not-for-profit
34$44,572
7Morgan State University
Baltimore Public
31$37,900
8Salisbury University
Salisbury Public
24$33,397
9University of Baltimore
Baltimore Public
22Not reported
10St. Mary's College of Maryland
St. Mary's City Public
19Not reported
Show the other 9 Maryland colleges offering Political Science and Government
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Maryland Global Campus (Online)AdelphiPublic113
McDaniel CollegeWestminsterPrivate not-for-profit18
Washington CollegeChestertownPrivate not-for-profit14
Mount St. Mary's UniversityEmmitsburgPrivate not-for-profit11
Frostburg State UniversityFrostburgPublic4
Hood CollegeFrederickPrivate not-for-profit4
Goucher CollegeBaltimorePrivate not-for-profit3
Coppin State UniversityBaltimorePublic2
Washington Adventist UniversityTakoma ParkPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Political Scientists (SOC 19-3094).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-3.1%
Decline
Openings / yr (US)
~500
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$139,380
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningCritical ThinkingWriting

What Political Scientists earn in Maryland

Jobs in Maryland
100
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$148,440
median $153,380
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Economists
$146,600 avg · 1,130 jobs
Social Science Research Assistants
$73,310 avg · 700 jobs
Political Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$126,130 avg · 370 jobs
Economics Teachers, Postsecondary
$163,950 avg · 200 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Political Science and Government programs in Maryland.

Which Maryland colleges award the most Political Science and Government degrees?+

University of Maryland-College Park (285 graduates a year), Johns Hopkins University (145 graduates a year) and United States Naval Academy (96 graduates a year) award the most Political Science and Government degrees in Maryland, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 19 Maryland colleges offer Political Science and Government.

What is the best college for Political Science and Government in Maryland?+

By graduate earnings, Loyola University Maryland leads among bachelor's Political Science and Government programs in Maryland, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $44,572, College Scorecard. University of Maryland-College Park and Towson University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Maryland-College Park is the largest, with 285 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Political Science and Government program in Maryland has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Loyola University Maryland tops the list at $44,572. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Political Scientists earn in Maryland?+

The average annual wage for Political Scientists in Maryland is $148,440 (median $153,380), across about 100 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Political Science and Government program?+

The Political Science and Government program offers students an in-depth understanding of political systems, behavior, and institutions. This program is designed for individuals interested in exploring the complexities of governance,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Political Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about -3.1% growth with around 500 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card