Nebraska · Computer and Information Sciences

Best colleges for Computer and Information Sciences in Nebraska

Ranked by graduate earnings

Central Community College, Western Nebraska Community College and University of Nebraska at Kearney award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Nebraska: 137, 29 and 18 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 15 Nebraska colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences and award 1,143 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

Institutions
15
offering CIP 11.01
States & territories
56
with a program page
Degrees / yr
1,143
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$58,750
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
7
College Scorecard
Median net price
$25,103
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
45%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Computer and Information Research Scientists
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Doane University
Crete Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$63,451757%$25,103$27,000
2University of Nebraska at Kearney
Kearney Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$60,7711858%——
3Bellevue University
Bellevue Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Online
$60,18819133%$29,230$29,513

Top 4 certificate and associate programs

Shorter credentials, ranked separately so they are not compared with four-year degrees. Ranked by median earnings one year after completion (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Nebraska at Omaha
Omaha Public · Certificate
$58,7507847%—$19,875
2Southeast Community College Area
Lincoln Public · Associate degree
$55,73814538%—$19,140
3Northeast Community College
Norfolk Public · Associate degree
$37,5095456%—$12,000
4Metropolitan Community College Area
Omaha Public · Associate degree
$48,71945129%—$14,340

Colleges awarding the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Nebraska

Top 9 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Central Community College
Grand Island Public
137Not reported
2Western Nebraska Community College
Scottsbluff Public
29Not reported
3University of Nebraska at Kearney
Kearney Public
18$60,771
4Peru State College
Peru Public
12Not reported
5Wayne State College
Wayne Public
11Not reported
6Doane University
Crete Private not-for-profit
7$63,451
7Mid-Plains Community College
North Platte Public
3Not reported
8Union Adventist University
Lincoln Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
9Concordia University - Nebraska
Seward Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 6 Nebraska colleges offering Computer and Information Sciences
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Metropolitan Community College AreaOmahaPublic451
Bellevue University (Online)BellevuePrivate not-for-profit191
Southeast Community College AreaLincolnPublic145
University of Nebraska at OmahaOmahaPublic78
Northeast Community CollegeNorfolkPublic54
Little Priest Tribal CollegeWinnebagoPublic3

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+19.7%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~3,200
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$140,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Critical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive ListeningSpeakingActive LearningMathematics

What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Nebraska

Jobs in Nebraska
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Software Developers
$115,590 avg · 7,260 jobs
Computer and Information Systems Managers
$147,830 avg · 5,070 jobs
Computer Systems Analysts
$96,880 avg · 2,440 jobs
Computer Occupations, All Other
$93,090 avg · 2,280 jobs
Data Scientists
$98,980 avg · 1,980 jobs
Network and Computer Systems Administrators
$91,640 avg · 1,560 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Computer and Information Sciences programs in Nebraska.

Which Nebraska colleges award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees?+

Central Community College (137 graduates a year), Western Nebraska Community College (29 graduates a year) and University of Nebraska at Kearney (18 graduates a year) award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Nebraska, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 15 Nebraska colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences.

What is the focus of the Computer and Information Sciences program?+

The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+

The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card