Best colleges for Social Work in Montana
Ranked by graduate earnings
The University of Montana, Carroll College and Blackfeet Community College award the most Social Work degrees and certificates in Montana: 161, 29 and 6 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 6 Montana colleges offer Social Work and award 211 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…
Top institution, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Montana Missoula Public · Bachelor's degree | $33,726 | 161 | 48% | — | $25,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Social Work degrees in Montana
Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The University of Montana Missoula Public | 161 | $33,726 |
| 2 | Carroll College Helena Private not-for-profit | 29 | Not reported |
| 3 | Blackfeet Community College Browning Private not-for-profit | 6 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 3 Montana colleges offering Social Work
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Fort Peck Community College | Poplar | Public | 9 |
| Salish Kootenai College | Pablo | Public | 5 |
| Chief Dull Knife College | Lame Deer | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Healthcare Social Workers (SOC 21-1022).
Top skills
What Healthcare Social Workers earn in Montana
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Social Work programs in Montana.
Which Montana colleges award the most Social Work degrees?+
The University of Montana (161 graduates a year), Carroll College (29 graduates a year) and Blackfeet Community College (6 graduates a year) award the most Social Work degrees and certificates in Montana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 6 Montana colleges offer Social Work.
Which Social Work program in Montana has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, The University of Montana tops the list at $33,726. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Healthcare Social Workers earn in Montana?+
The average annual wage for Healthcare Social Workers in Montana is $59,510 (median $57,090), across about 840 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Social Work program?+
The Social Work program prepares students to support individuals and communities in overcoming challenges and improving their well-being. This field focuses on advocacy, education, and resource connection, making it ideal for those…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop speaking, critical thinking, active listening, reading comprehension, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Healthcare Social Workers?+
The national job outlook is about +7.7% growth with around 18,400 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card