Best colleges for Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in Montana
Ranked by graduate earnings
Academy of Cosmetology Inc, Montana Academy of Salons and Crevier's Academy of Cosmetology Arts are the top Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in Montana by graduate earnings. Academy of Cosmetology Inc leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $21,876, College Scorecard. Montana Academy of Salons, Crevier's Academy of Cosmetology Arts and Aveda Institute Montana award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees and certificates in Montana: 133, 85 and 59 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 5 Montana colleges offer Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services and award 314 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program prepares students for a diverse career in the beauty and personal care industry. This program is ideal for individuals interested in hair, skin, and nail care, offering various…
Top 3 institutions, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Academy of Cosmetology Inc Bozeman Private for-profit · Certificate | $21,876 | 23 | 67% | $15,761 | $7,715 |
| 2 | Montana Academy of Salons Great Falls Private for-profit · Certificate | $20,211 | 133 | 67% | $13,881 | $12,752 |
| 3 | Crevier's Academy of Cosmetology Arts Kalispell Private for-profit · Certificate | $19,079 | 85 | 93% | $13,404 | $9,833 |
Colleges awarding the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees in Montana
Top 5 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Montana Academy of Salons Great Falls Private for-profit | 133 | $20,211 |
| 2 | Crevier's Academy of Cosmetology Arts Kalispell Private for-profit | 85 | $19,079 |
| 3 | Aveda Institute Montana Billings Private for-profit | 59 | Not reported |
| 4 | Academy of Cosmetology Inc Bozeman Private for-profit | 23 | $21,876 |
| 5 | Helena College University of Montana Helena Public | 14 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists (SOC 39-5012).
Top skills
What Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists earn in Montana
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in Montana.
Which Montana colleges award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees?+
Montana Academy of Salons (133 graduates a year), Crevier's Academy of Cosmetology Arts (85 graduates a year) and Aveda Institute Montana (59 graduates a year) award the most Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services degrees and certificates in Montana, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 5 Montana colleges offer Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services.
What is the best college for Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services in Montana?+
By graduate earnings, Academy of Cosmetology Inc leads among Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services programs in Montana, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $21,876, College Scorecard. Montana Academy of Salons and Crevier's Academy of Cosmetology Arts follow. By degrees awarded, Montana Academy of Salons is the largest, with 133 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program in Montana has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, Academy of Cosmetology Inc tops the list at $21,876. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists earn in Montana?+
The average annual wage for Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists in Montana is $42,890 (median $38,000), across about 690 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program?+
The Cosmetology and Related Personal Grooming Services program prepares students for a diverse career in the beauty and personal care industry. This program is ideal for individuals interested in hair, skin, and nail care, offering various…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop active listening, speaking, critical thinking, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Hairdressers, Hairstylists, and Cosmetologists?+
The national job outlook is about +5.6% growth with around 75,800 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Postsecondary nondegree award is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card