Missouri · Philosophy

Best colleges for Philosophy in Missouri

Ranked by graduates a year

University of Missouri-Columbia, Washington University in St Louis and Saint Louis University award the most Philosophy degrees and certificates in Missouri: 43, 22 and 15 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 13 Missouri colleges offer Philosophy and award 126 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

Institutions
13
offering CIP 38.01
States & territories
53
with a program page
Degrees / yr
126
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,890
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
64%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Mathematicians
—
BLS OEWS May 2025

13 institutions offering Philosophy in Missouri

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia Public
—4375%——
2Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit
—2294%$14,126—
3Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
—1580%$24,886$10,000
4University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
—1357%——
5Conception Seminary College
Conception Private not-for-profit
—750%$33,216—
6Missouri University of Science and Technology
Rolla Public
—764%——
7University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
—555%——
8Evangel University
Springfield Private not-for-profit
—465%$17,881—
9Lindenwood University
Saint Charles Private not-for-profit
—349%$17,436—
10Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
—358%——
11Webster University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
—264%$25,090—
12Avila University
Kansas City Private not-for-profit
—152%$16,721—
13Rockhurst University
Kansas City Private not-for-profit
—175%$21,890—

Colleges awarding the most Philosophy degrees in Missouri

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Missouri-Columbia
Columbia Public
43Not reported
2Washington University in St Louis
St. Louis Private not-for-profit
22Not reported
3Saint Louis University
Saint Louis Private not-for-profit
15Not reported
4University of Missouri-St Louis
Saint Louis Public
13Not reported
5Conception Seminary College
Conception Private not-for-profit
7Not reported
6Missouri University of Science and Technology
Rolla Public
7Not reported
7University of Missouri-Kansas City
Kansas City Public
5Not reported
8Evangel University
Springfield Private not-for-profit
4Not reported
9Lindenwood University
Saint Charles Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
10Missouri State University - Springfield
Springfield Public
3Not reported
Show the other 3 Missouri colleges offering Philosophy
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Webster UniversitySaint LouisPrivate not-for-profit2
Avila UniversityKansas CityPrivate not-for-profit1
Rockhurst UniversityKansas CityPrivate not-for-profit1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
-0.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~100
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$121,680
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsCritical ThinkingReading ComprehensionActive LearningScienceWriting

What Mathematicians earn in Missouri

Jobs in Missouri
—
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
—
annual
Best-paying metro
—

Related careers

Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$82,840 avg · 740 jobs
Philosophy and Religion Teachers, Postsecondary
$80,470 avg · 320 jobs
Mathematicians
—

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Philosophy programs in Missouri.

Which Missouri colleges award the most Philosophy degrees?+

University of Missouri-Columbia (43 graduates a year), Washington University in St Louis (22 graduates a year) and Saint Louis University (15 graduates a year) award the most Philosophy degrees and certificates in Missouri, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 13 Missouri colleges offer Philosophy.

What is the focus of the Philosophy program?+

The Philosophy program offers a systematic study of fundamental questions related to existence, knowledge, mind, reason, language, and value. It is designed for students interested in engaging in rational and critical inquiry, reflecting…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+

The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card