Minnesota · Ethnic

Best colleges for Ethnic in Minnesota

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities, Minnesota State University - Mankato and University of Minnesota-Duluth award the most Ethnic degrees in Minnesota: 23, 22 and 11 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 17 Minnesota colleges offer Ethnic and award 102 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies program focuses on the study of differences related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. This interdisciplinary field examines how these identities intersect with power…

Related programs you can study
Institutions
17
offering CIP 05.02
States offered
51
with a program page
Degrees / yr
102
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$33,000
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$21,607
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
58%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Interpreters and Translators
$71,800
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public · Bachelor's degree
$33,0002385%—$21,964
2University of Minnesota-Duluth
Duluth Public · Bachelor's degree Small program
$41,9261165%——
3St Olaf College
Northfield Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree Small program
$28,288584%$18,124$23,480

Colleges awarding the most Ethnic degrees in Minnesota

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Minneapolis Public
23$33,000
2Minnesota State University - Mankato
Mankato Public
22Not reported
3University of Minnesota-Duluth
Duluth Public
11$41,926
4Metropolitan State University
Saint Paul Public
7Not reported
5Bemidji State University
Bemidji Public
6Not reported
6Central Lakes College - Brainerd
Brainerd Public
6Not reported
7St Olaf College
Northfield Private not-for-profit
5$28,288
8University of Minnesota-Morris
Morris Public
4Not reported
9Century College
White Bear Lake Public
4Not reported
10Augsburg University
Minneapolis Private not-for-profit
3Not reported
Show the other 7 Minnesota colleges offering Ethnic
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
Gustavus Adolphus CollegeSaint PeterPrivate not-for-profit3
St Catherine UniversitySaint PaulPrivate not-for-profit3
Minneapolis Community and Technical CollegeMinneapolisPublic1
College of Saint BenedictSaint JosephPrivate not-for-profit1
Saint Johns UniversityCollegevillePrivate not-for-profit1
University of St ThomasSaint PaulPrivate not-for-profit1
Leech Lake Tribal CollegeCass LakePublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Interpreters and Translators (SOC 27-3091).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+1.7%
Little or no change
Openings / yr (US)
~6,900
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$59,440
typically Bachelor's degree

Top skills

SpeakingActive ListeningReading ComprehensionWritingMonitoringCritical Thinking

What Interpreters and Translators earn in Minnesota

Jobs in Minnesota
1,030
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$71,800
median $66,410
Best-paying metro
$76,460
St. Cloud, MN

Related careers

Interpreters and Translators
$71,800 avg · 1,030 jobs
Area, Ethnic, and Cultural Studies Teachers, Postsecondary
$93,830 avg · 280 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Ethnic programs in Minnesota.

Which Minnesota colleges award the most Ethnic degrees?+

University of Minnesota-Twin Cities (23 graduates a year), Minnesota State University - Mankato (22 graduates a year) and University of Minnesota-Duluth (11 graduates a year) award the most Ethnic degrees in Minnesota, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 17 Minnesota colleges offer Ethnic.

Which Ethnic program in Minnesota has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities tops the list at $33,000. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Interpreters and Translators earn in Minnesota?+

The average annual wage for Interpreters and Translators in Minnesota is $71,800 (median $66,410), across about 1,030 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Ethnic program?+

The Ethnic, Cultural Minority, Gender, and Group Studies program focuses on the study of differences related to race, ethnicity, gender, and sexuality. This interdisciplinary field examines how these identities intersect with power…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop speaking, active listening, reading comprehension, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Interpreters and Translators?+

The national job outlook is about +1.7% growth with around 6,900 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Bachelor's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

Related programs in MinnesotaArea StudiesArea

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card