Michigan · Statistics

Best colleges for Statistics in Michigan

Ranked by graduate earnings

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Michigan State University and Grand Valley State University are the top bachelor's Statistics programs in Michigan by graduate earnings. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $64,371, College Scorecard. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Michigan State University and Grand Valley State University award the most Statistics degrees in Michigan: 187, 41 and 35 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 11 Michigan colleges offer Statistics and award 334 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Statistics program focuses on the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data. This field is essential for making informed decisions based on quantitative information and is suitable for students interested in…

Institutions
11
offering CIP 27.05
States offered
49
with a program page
Degrees / yr
334
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
$63,649
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
3
College Scorecard
Median net price
$22,391
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
65%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Statisticians
$117,520
BLS OEWS May 2025

Top 3 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings

Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Public · Bachelor's degree
$64,37118793%—$23,250
2Michigan State University
East Lansing Public · Bachelor's degree
$63,6494181%—$25,625
3Grand Valley State University
Allendale Public · Bachelor's degree
$43,6683567%—$27,000

Colleges awarding the most Statistics degrees in Michigan

Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Ann Arbor Public
187$64,371
2Michigan State University
East Lansing Public
41$63,649
3Grand Valley State University
Allendale Public
35$43,668
4Western Michigan University
Kalamazoo Public
25Not reported
5Central Michigan University
Mount Pleasant Public
22Not reported
6Wayne State University
Detroit Public
9Not reported
7Michigan Technological University
Houghton Public
6Not reported
8Oakland University
Rochester Hills Public
4Not reported
9Eastern Michigan University
Ypsilanti Public
3Not reported
10Calvin University
Grand Rapids Private not-for-profit
1Not reported
Show the other 1 Michigan colleges offering Statistics
InstitutionCityControlGraduates / yr
University of Michigan-DearbornDearbornPublic1

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Statisticians (SOC 15-2041).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+8.5%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~2,000
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$103,300
typically Master's degree

Top skills

MathematicsReading ComprehensionCritical ThinkingSpeakingActive ListeningActive Learning

What Statisticians earn in Michigan

Jobs in Michigan
570
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$117,520
median $102,710
Best-paying metro
$113,860
Ann Arbor, MI

Related careers

Data Scientists
$105,890 avg · 7,360 jobs
Mathematical Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$104,810 avg · 1,420 jobs
Statisticians
$117,520 avg · 570 jobs
Actuaries
$108,630 avg · 570 jobs
Survey Researchers
$103,410 avg · 150 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Statistics programs in Michigan.

Which Michigan colleges award the most Statistics degrees?+

University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (187 graduates a year), Michigan State University (41 graduates a year) and Grand Valley State University (35 graduates a year) award the most Statistics degrees in Michigan, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 11 Michigan colleges offer Statistics.

What is the best college for Statistics in Michigan?+

By graduate earnings, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor leads among bachelor's Statistics programs in Michigan, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $64,371, College Scorecard. Michigan State University and Grand Valley State University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor is the largest, with 187 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).

Which Statistics program in Michigan has the highest-earning graduates?+

By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor tops the list at $64,371. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.

How much do Statisticians earn in Michigan?+

The average annual wage for Statisticians in Michigan is $117,520 (median $102,710), across about 570 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Statistics program?+

The Statistics program focuses on the collection, analysis, interpretation, and presentation of data. This field is essential for making informed decisions based on quantitative information and is suitable for students interested in…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop mathematics, reading comprehension, critical thinking, speaking, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Statisticians?+

The national job outlook is about +8.5% growth with around 2,000 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card