Best colleges for Computer and Information Sciences in Michigan
Ranked by graduate earnings
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Michigan State University and Wayne State University are the top bachelor's Computer and Information Sciences programs in Michigan by graduate earnings. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor leads with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $113,634, College Scorecard. University of Michigan-Ann Arbor, Michigan State University and Central Michigan University award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Michigan: 1,420, 547 and 480 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 35 Michigan colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences and award 3,838 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…
Top 10 bachelor's programs, ranked by graduate earnings
Ranked by median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard. Programs with fewer than 20 graduates a year, a graduation rate under 30%, or online, degree-completion or graduate-only status rank after the rest.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Ann Arbor Public · Bachelor's degree | $113,634 | 1,420 | 93% | — | $20,000 |
| 2 | Michigan State University East Lansing Public · Bachelor's degree | $86,192 | 547 | 81% | — | $24,022 |
| 3 | Wayne State University Detroit Public · Bachelor's degree | $77,371 | 233 | 58% | — | $20,672 |
| 4 | University of Michigan-Dearborn Dearborn Public · Bachelor's degree | $77,273 | 214 | 58% | — | $25,000 |
| 5 | Grand Valley State University Allendale Public · Bachelor's degree | $74,360 | 314 | 67% | — | $27,000 |
| 6 | Saginaw Valley State University University Center Public · Bachelor's degree | $68,037 | 36 | 48% | — | $26,250 |
| 7 | Oakland University Rochester Hills Public · Bachelor's degree | $66,537 | 252 | 58% | — | $26,500 |
| 8 | Western Michigan University Kalamazoo Public · Bachelor's degree | $55,770 | 28 | 58% | — | $31,000 |
| 9 | Walsh College Troy Private not-for-profit · Bachelor's degree | $54,929 | 55 | — | — | $14,889 |
| 10 | Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Public · Bachelor's degree | $53,539 | 480 | 59% | — | $27,000 |
Colleges awarding the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Michigan
Top 10 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Certificate and associate programs, online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | University of Michigan-Ann Arbor Ann Arbor Public | 1,420 | $113,634 |
| 2 | Michigan State University East Lansing Public | 547 | $86,192 |
| 3 | Central Michigan University Mount Pleasant Public | 480 | $53,539 |
| 4 | Grand Valley State University Allendale Public | 314 | $74,360 |
| 5 | Oakland University Rochester Hills Public | 252 | $66,537 |
| 6 | Wayne State University Detroit Public | 233 | $77,371 |
| 7 | University of Michigan-Dearborn Dearborn Public | 214 | $77,273 |
| 8 | Walsh College Troy Private not-for-profit | 55 | $54,929 |
| 9 | University of Michigan-Flint Flint Public | 41 | Not reported |
| 10 | DSDT Detroit Private for-profit | 38 | Not reported |
ShowHide the other 25 Michigan colleges offering Computer and Information Sciences
| Institution | City | Control | Graduates / yr |
|---|---|---|---|
| Saginaw Valley State University | University Center | Public | 36 |
| Lawrence Technological University | Southfield | Private not-for-profit | 28 |
| Western Michigan University | Kalamazoo | Public | 28 |
| Northern Michigan University | Marquette | Public | 20 |
| Macomb Community College | Warren | Public | 19 |
| Ferris State University | Big Rapids | Public | 17 |
| Kalamazoo College | Kalamazoo | Private not-for-profit | 14 |
| Oakland Community College | Auburn Hills | Public | 14 |
| Hope College | Holland | Private not-for-profit | 13 |
| Delta College | University Center | Public | 11 |
| Eastern Michigan University | Ypsilanti | Public | 6 |
| Bay Mills Community College | Brimley | Public | 6 |
| Northwood University | Midland | Private not-for-profit | 5 |
| Washtenaw Community College | Ann Arbor | Public | 4 |
| Andrews University | Berrien Springs | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Glen Oaks Community College | Centreville | Public | 3 |
| Montcalm Community College | Sidney | Public | 3 |
| The University of Olivet | Olivet | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Spring Arbor University | Spring Arbor | Private not-for-profit | 3 |
| Aquinas College | Grand Rapids | Private not-for-profit | 2 |
| Lake Michigan College | Benton Harbor | Public | 2 |
| Alpena Community College | Alpena | Public | 1 |
| Concordia University Ann Arbor | Ann Arbor | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| University of Detroit Mercy | Detroit | Private not-for-profit | 1 |
| Wayne County Community College District | Detroit | Public | 1 |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Computer and Information Research Scientists (SOC 15-1221).
Top skills
What Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Michigan
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Computer and Information Sciences programs in Michigan.
Which Michigan colleges award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees?+
University of Michigan-Ann Arbor (1,420 graduates a year), Michigan State University (547 graduates a year) and Central Michigan University (480 graduates a year) award the most Computer and Information Sciences degrees in Michigan, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 35 Michigan colleges offer Computer and Information Sciences.
What is the best college for Computer and Information Sciences in Michigan?+
By graduate earnings, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor leads among bachelor's Computer and Information Sciences programs in Michigan, with median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary) of $113,634, College Scorecard. Michigan State University and Wayne State University follow. By degrees awarded, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor is the largest, with 1,420 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25).
Which Computer and Information Sciences program in Michigan has the highest-earning graduates?+
By median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor tops the list at $113,634. Compare it against graduates a year, graduation rate, cost, and debt in the ranked table above.
How much do Computer and Information Research Scientists earn in Michigan?+
The average annual wage for Computer and Information Research Scientists in Michigan is $106,130 (median $82,590), across about 530 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Computer and Information Sciences program?+
The Computer and Information Sciences program focuses on the intersection of computing and informatics, treating computers as essential tools for problem-solving and innovation. This program is designed for students interested in…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop critical thinking, reading comprehension, active listening, speaking, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Computer and Information Research Scientists?+
The national job outlook is about +19.7% growth with around 3,200 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card