Maryland · Genetics

Best colleges for Genetics in Maryland

Ranked by graduates a year

Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland, Baltimore and Frederick Community College award the most Genetics degrees and certificates in Maryland: 54, 2 and 1 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 3 Maryland colleges offer Genetics and award 57 degrees and certificates a year in all.

The Genetics program focuses on the study of DNA structures and expressions, exploring how these variations contribute to differences among organisms. This field is ideal for students interested in biological and biomedical sciences,…

Institutions
3
offering CIP 26.08
States offered
37
with a program page
Degrees / yr
57
IPEDS completions 2024–25
Median starting salary
—
1 yr after graduation, College Scorecard
With earnings data
0
College Scorecard
Median net price
$11,888
IPEDS 2024–25
Avg graduation rate
66%
IPEDS 2024–25
State pay · Genetic Counselors
$100,000
BLS OEWS May 2025

3 institutions offering Genetics in Maryland

Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.

Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionStarting salary (1 yr)Graduates / yrGrad rateNet priceMedian debt
1Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore Private not-for-profit
—5494%$11,888—
2University of Maryland, Baltimore
Baltimore Public
—2———
3Frederick Community College
Frederick Public
—137%——

Colleges awarding the most Genetics degrees in Maryland

Top 3 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.

Graduates / yr: degrees and certificates awarded in a year, IPEDS completions. Starting salary (1 yr): median earnings one year after graduation (often called starting salary), College Scorecard.
#InstitutionGraduates / yrStarting salary (1 yr)
1Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore Private not-for-profit
54Not reported
2University of Maryland, Baltimore
Baltimore Public
2Not reported
3Frederick Community College
Frederick Public
1Not reported

Career outlook

What this program leads to: Genetic Counselors (SOC 29-9092).

Projected growth (2024–2034)
+9.3%
Much faster than average
Openings / yr (US)
~300
BLS Employment Projections
US median wage
$98,910
typically Master's degree

Top skills

Reading ComprehensionActive ListeningCritical ThinkingWritingSpeakingActive Learning

What Genetic Counselors earn in Maryland

Jobs in Maryland
50
BLS OEWS May 2025
State average pay
$100,000
median $94,050
Best-paying metro
$95,760
Baltimore-Columbia-Towson, MD

Related careers

Biological Scientists, All Other
$126,240 avg · 4,970 jobs
Biological Technicians
$59,080 avg · 3,470 jobs
Biological Science Teachers, Postsecondary
$98,930 avg · 970 jobs
Genetic Counselors
$100,000 avg · 50 jobs

Common questions

Answers for students comparing Genetics programs in Maryland.

Which Maryland colleges award the most Genetics degrees?+

Johns Hopkins University (54 graduates a year), University of Maryland, Baltimore (2 graduates a year) and Frederick Community College (1 graduate a year) award the most Genetics degrees and certificates in Maryland, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 3 Maryland colleges offer Genetics.

How much do Genetic Counselors earn in Maryland?+

The average annual wage for Genetic Counselors in Maryland is $100,000 (median $94,050), across about 50 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.

What is the focus of the Genetics program?+

The Genetics program focuses on the study of DNA structures and expressions, exploring how these variations contribute to differences among organisms. This field is ideal for students interested in biological and biomedical sciences,…

What skills will I develop in this program?+

You will develop reading comprehension, active listening, critical thinking, writing, and related professional skills.

What is the job outlook for Genetic Counselors?+

The national job outlook is about +9.3% growth with around 300 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).

What is the typical education requirement?+

A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).

About the data on this page

Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.

IPEDSFall 2025–26 release, published July 28, 2026
Enrollment, completions, graduation rates, tuition, financial aid, staffing, and finance for every U.S. institution in federal student aid programs.
College ScorecardJune 10, 2026 release (merged 2025–26 files)
Institution and field-of-study costs, graduate earnings, debt, completion, and admissions outcomes compiled from federal aid records, tax data, and IPEDS.
PSEO graduate earnings2019–21 graduation cohorts (release V4.13.0)
Earnings and employment outcomes of graduates by institution, degree level, and field of study, measured from state wage records.
BLS wages & outlookOEWS May 2025 release
Occupational employment and wage estimates plus 10-year job outlook, used to connect programs to real-world earnings.
FVT/GE program performanceProvisional preview, May 18, 2026 release
Program-level debt-to-earnings and earnings-premium measures behind the FVT/GE and STATS accountability frameworks.

Explore every U.S. college in one conversation

Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.

Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card