Best colleges for Applied Mathematics in Maryland
Ranked by graduates a year
Johns Hopkins University, University of Maryland-College Park and University of Maryland-Baltimore County award the most Applied Mathematics degrees and certificates in Maryland: 161, 38 and 12 graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25). 8 Maryland colleges offer Applied Mathematics and award 224 degrees and certificates a year in all.
The Applied Mathematics program focuses on the practical application of mathematical methods across various fields, including physics, engineering, finance, and biology. This program is ideal for students who are interested in solving…
8 institutions offering Applied Mathematics in Maryland
Graduate earnings are not yet reported for these institutions; ordered by graduates a year.
| # | Institution | Starting salary (1 yr) | Graduates / yr | Grad rate | Net price | Median debt |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Johns Hopkins University Baltimore Private not-for-profit | — | 161 | 94% | $11,888 | — |
| 2 | University of Maryland-College Park College Park Public | — | 38 | 89% | — | — |
| 3 | University of Maryland-Baltimore County Baltimore Public | — | 12 | 70% | — | — |
| 4 | Loyola University Maryland Baltimore Private not-for-profit | — | 8 | 79% | $26,585 | — |
| 5 | Stevenson University Owings Mills Private not-for-profit | — | 2 | 68% | $26,556 | — |
| 6 | Bowie State University Bowie Public | — | 1 | 38% | — | — |
| 7 | Towson University Towson Public | — | 1 | 69% | — | — |
| 8 | McDaniel College Westminster Private not-for-profit | — | 1 | 63% | $18,988 | — |
Colleges awarding the most Applied Mathematics degrees in Maryland
Top 8 by graduates a year (IPEDS 2024–25 completions). Online, degree-completion and graduate-only schools, and schools with a graduation rate under 30% are listed in full below.
| # | Institution | Graduates / yr | Starting salary (1 yr) |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Johns Hopkins University Baltimore Private not-for-profit | 161 | Not reported |
| 2 | University of Maryland-College Park College Park Public | 38 | Not reported |
| 3 | University of Maryland-Baltimore County Baltimore Public | 12 | Not reported |
| 4 | Loyola University Maryland Baltimore Private not-for-profit | 8 | Not reported |
| 5 | Stevenson University Owings Mills Private not-for-profit | 2 | Not reported |
| 6 | Bowie State University Bowie Public | 1 | Not reported |
| 7 | Towson University Towson Public | 1 | Not reported |
| 8 | McDaniel College Westminster Private not-for-profit | 1 | Not reported |
Career outlook
What this program leads to: Mathematicians (SOC 15-2021).
Top skills
What Mathematicians earn in Maryland
Related careers
Common questions
Answers for students comparing Applied Mathematics programs in Maryland.
Which Maryland colleges award the most Applied Mathematics degrees?+
Johns Hopkins University (161 graduates a year), University of Maryland-College Park (38 graduates a year) and University of Maryland-Baltimore County (12 graduates a year) award the most Applied Mathematics degrees and certificates in Maryland, per IPEDS 2024–25 completions. In all, 8 Maryland colleges offer Applied Mathematics.
How much do Mathematicians earn in Maryland?+
The average annual wage for Mathematicians in Maryland is $135,250 (median $131,810), across about 160 jobs. Source: BLS OEWS, May 2025.
What is the focus of the Applied Mathematics program?+
The Applied Mathematics program focuses on the practical application of mathematical methods across various fields, including physics, engineering, finance, and biology. This program is ideal for students who are interested in solving…
What skills will I develop in this program?+
You will develop mathematics, critical thinking, reading comprehension, active learning, and related professional skills.
What is the job outlook for Mathematicians?+
The national job outlook is about -0.7% growth with around 100 annual openings (BLS Employment Projections 2024–2034).
What is the typical education requirement?+
A Master's degree is the typical entry-level education for this field (BLS).
About the data on this page
Every figure comes from an official federal or public source. Here is each one and the release it is currently on.
Explore every U.S. college in one conversation
Clema turns plain-language questions into sourced answers across every U.S. institution — earnings, aid, acceptance, graduation, safety, and athletics from IPEDS, College Scorecard, and 10+ federal datasets, built in.
Free for teams up to 3 · No credit card